Cilantro-Lime Chicken Tacos (Crock pot) with Sweet & Spicy Pepper Corn Salsa

Welcome to:

Munchie Monday

When I posted this month’s dinner menu I mentioned that our lives suddenly became much busier.  So our crock pot is getting used a lot more.  This last Thursday I tried out a new recipe.  Cilantro-Lime Chicken Tacos.  The recipe is one that I have seen floating around pinterest a lot in various forms, but the salsa, that was 100% my beginner’s kitchen intuition.

cilantro-lime chicken tacos

These tacos were really good.  The meat is very flavorful, tender, and juicy.  I personally thought that they were a nice break from our usual taco meals.  Side note: we don’t like the name brand taco seasoning.  We tried it when it was on sale and went running back to Kroger brand.  Low-Sodium of course.

Serving recommendations:

Top with a little bit of cheese and raw onion for a little crunch. We of course had to use Franks!

We tried them with hard shells and soft shells; I recommend eating these as soft shell tacos.  I sent Will some leftovers with lunch, but I didn’t want to send him with all of “his” soft shells so I also sent him with one of “mine.”  Being gluten intolerant what I am really saying is I gave him one flour tortilla and one corn tortilla.  After that lunch he informed me:

“Your life is so much less enjoyable than mine because you can’t have flour tortillas.” – Will Pomeroy aka: Hubster, Farmboy, Pom Pom

I know; he really has a way with words.

We also ate some of the leftovers as quesodillas and those were awesome!

Here they are! Ready for Devouring =)

Here they are! Ready for Devouring =)

Cilantro-Lime Chicken Tacos

Ingredients:

2 chicken breasts

1 Lime (just the juice)

1/2 of a bunch fresh cilantro, chopped

1 clove garlic minced

1/4 red onion, chopped

1 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp Ground Black Pepper

1 tsp Chili Powder

Directions: 

  • I put my frozen chicken breast in the crock pot and squeezed the lime juice over them as I was going to bed.
  • In the morning I placed all the rest of the ingredients in the crock pot and cooked it on low for 6-8 hours while we were at work.  (I had everything chopped and ready to go, so it took about .5 minutes to prepare this in the morning)
  • When Will got home he turned the crock pot off (this was about 7-8 hours of cooking).  Then when I got home 45 minutes later, the food was still plenty warm.
  • I shredded the SUPER TENDER AND MOIST chicken breasts with two forks and mixed back in with the juices, onion, and cilantro in the crock pot.
  • Ta duh!  you have the meat filling.
  • no more than a total of 30 minutes of work was spent on that.
this is colorful and unique in flavor.

this is colorful and unique in flavor.

Sweet & Spicy Pepper Corn Salsa

Ingredients:

1/2 cup corn (i used frozen golden sweet corn)
1 cup chopped bell peppers
1 tsp chili powder
1/2 tbsp Sriracha sauce  (more or less depending on how much kick you like)
1 tbsp Olive Oil
sriracha sauce - we use this as an ingredient in stuff almost as much as we use Franks on our food!

sriracha sauce – we use this as an ingredient in stuff almost as much as we use Franks on our food!

Directions:

  • Saute the corn kernels and the chopped peppers in the olive oil.  All of my veggies were frozen originally so I sautéed them for 2-5 minutes before adding in the seasoning because I wanted them to thaw and cookout some of the excess water.
  • Add the chili powder and Sriracha Sauce
  • Once the veggies are heated through, cook till your desired doneness.
  • This easy salsa was completely a product of imagination and it complimented the flavor of the cilantro-lime chicken perfectly.  It doesn’t have much heat to Will and I because we like super spicy, but it might have plenty of kick for you.

3 responses to “Cilantro-Lime Chicken Tacos (Crock pot) with Sweet & Spicy Pepper Corn Salsa

  1. Pingback: Time Saving Recipes | The Pomeroy Life

  2. Pingback: Zucchini Corn Salsa & Avocado Dressing | The Pomeroy Life

  3. Pingback: Crockpot Carnitas | The Pomeroy Life

Leave a comment