Munchie Monday: Honey-Nut Cinnamon Craisin Bread

If you follow us on instagram, this is the post you have been waiting for since I shared a picture of Will’s breakfast last Wednesday.  Salivate no more! You can now make it for yourself!

Honey-Nut Cinnamon Craisin Bread

Honey-Nut Cinnamon Craisin Bread

Back in November, I put a bread machine on my Christmas list because I have come to realize that it does a much better job on gluten-free bread than the open-air, lots-of-messy-kneading process does.  On top of that, our drafty house really is not the best environment to raise dough in.

Lucky for us, Will’s grandma gave us one!  After the first couple weeks of craziness from settling back in after the holidays passed, Will realized that I had not made any bread yet.  Well, he made it his goal in life to change that.  I think he asked me to make bread for him every day for two weeks. (I have no room to talk; I nag him about things more than he does me.  He’s a patient man)

 I know I am a terrible person.  It’s just one of the ways I try to make my husband feel like the luckiest guy in the world.

Last week, we got home from Serve the City, and Will got on a Google hang out with all his guy friends.  I like to take advantage of said calls to not only laugh at the amazing friends God placed in his life, but also to make them a little jealous of how good Will has it by baking something awesome and bringing it in for Will to taste, smell, or eat the batter of while they are watching.  I know I am a terrible person.  It’s just one of the ways I try to make my husband feel like the luckiest guy in the world.

So back to the story…

Last week, we got home from Serve the City, and I brought the new bread machine in from the mud room.  After reading the directions, and finding just the right recipe to break in the new toy with I loaded it with the ingredients, pressed 2 MAYBE 3 buttons, and let it work its magic.  When we woke up there was a fresh loaf of amazing bread for Will’s breakfast.

Izzy was very intrigued by the bread machines kneading noises... and probably the delicious smell too!

Izzy was very intrigued by the bread machines kneading noises… and probably the delicious smell too!

Will loves Cinnamon Raisin Toast for breakfast, but those Pepperidge Farm loaves are so pricey! Naturally, I picked that safe bet as a sure way to wow him with my first bread making attempt. The recipe that I used was this one for cinnamon raisin bread.  But I made a few tweaks as we are trying not to use such heavily processed sugars and didn’t have raisins. For kicks I added in some finely chopped pecans to add a nuttiness to this warm flavored bread. 

I don’t know if I have to tell you this or not, but this bread was definitely Hubster Approved! He’s been enjoying it every morning, and had made many people jealous!  So try the recipe out and let me know how you liked it!

Note that this recipe is for a 1 pound loaf in your bread machine.

 Honey-Nut Cinnamon Cranberry Bread

Ingredients:

  • ¾ cup Water
  • 1 Tbsp. Margarine
  • 2 cups Flour (I used all-purpose)
  • 2 Tbsp. Honey
  • 1 tsp. Salt
  • 1 tsp. Cinnamon (I put in a little extra)
  • 1 ¾ tsp. Yeast
  • ½ cup Craisins
  • ¼ cup Pecans, finely chopped

 Directions:

  1. Add all the ingredients except the raisins in the order specified by your bread maker.
  2. Set it to a 1 lb. loaf with a light crust on the sweet bread cycle.
  3. This is when I was a little uncertain.  The original poster of this recipe said “When the mix-in tone sounds, add the raisins.”  Since I had never used the machine before, I had no idea what the “mix-in” tone was.  But trust me, it beeped loud and clear after a long kneading cycle.  I assumed that was the “mix-in” tone, so I opened it up and tossed in the craisins and nuts.  At that time it started kneading again… didn’t sound so great with the fixin’s rattling around, but soon enough they were all worked into the dough.  As you can see from the picture, they were nice and evenly distributed throughout the loaf!
Honey-Nut Cinnamon Craisin Bread

Honey-Nut Cinnamon Craisin Bread

2 thoughts on “Munchie Monday: Honey-Nut Cinnamon Craisin Bread

  1. Pingback: Going Vegan-ish | The Pomeroy Life

Leave a Reply

