Packable Healthy Lunch Tip & Weekly Menu

A taste-tested menu is at the bottom of this post.  If you would like to see what we will be eating next week and try to cook that along with us then go to this page.

I used to eat a yogurt and some fruit every single week day for lunch.  Rarely would I bring a salad or leftovers.  Actually I would just stock the drawer of the fridge at work with yogurts every couple of weeks. What I didn’t realize for a very long time was the crazy amounts of sugar in those yogurts, but I didn’t know what to do for an easy lunch that wasn’t too heavy (I don’t like a lot for lunch).

When Will and I went vegan for a while, I was forced to put the spoon down and step outside of my tasty comfort zone. I tried celery sticks and carrots – which is fine if I have peanut butter in my desk for the celery. I like a small salad too, but to make a good salad takes a lot of effort that I don’t always want to put in. And then I stumbled on something wonderful – Smoothies!

Smoothies To Go

Will’s Mom gave us a Ninja Blender for Christmas, and that thing is amazing! Not only can it do heavy duty things, like these pb&j energy bites, but it makes smoothies in a heartbeat without sounding like you’re killing it. If you have a $20 blender, you know the pitiful noises that I am referring to.  You almost don’t want to use the poor little blender for fear you will cause it to explode, spontaneously combust, or just never turn on again.  Not so with the Ninja. I used to be good at Fruit Ninja on the iPad, and now I am fruit ninja in the kitchen.

The even better thing is that I can make smoothies in a few minutes time one evening, pour them into mason jars, put them in the freezer, pull one out each morning to take to work, and by lunch time it will be thawed out ready to eat!

These two are Strawberry-Banana, but they are slightly odd colored due to the spinach.

These two are Strawberry-Banana, but they are slightly odd colored due to the spinach.

The options with Smoothies are endless.  Last summer I posted a recipe for Super Spinach Berry Smoothies (note that they are in Super glasses….)

Super Berry Spinach Smoothies

Super Berry Spinach Smoothies

Maybe you are thinking that a Smoothie isn’t filling enough for you for lunch.  Try adding some oatmeal or almonds and flax seed meal.  Smoothies are filling for about an hour, but if you add flax, oats, and/or almonds it sticks to your ribs for a while.  I was hesitant of making that addition for a while, but then I realized that spinach is surprisingly awesome in smoothies, so why not oats or almonds?

Here’s my basic recipe that yields 2 mason jars full to the lip:

  • 2 handfuls Spinach
  • 1 Banana
  • 2 cups Frozen Fruit of Choice
  • 2 tbsp Ground Oats/Almonds
  • 1 tbsp Ground Flax Seed
  • 1/2 – 1 cup Liquid (juice, milk, water)
  • 1/2 cup Yogurt (optional)
20140305_171720

Stawberry Mango…. this one is my FAVORITE!

Now, what you have been waiting for.  A menu for the next week and a grocery list.

You can get a printable PDF of it HERE, and a printable Grocery List HERE.

You can get a printable PDF of it HERE, and a printable Grocery List HERE.

3 thoughts on “Packable Healthy Lunch Tip & Weekly Menu

  1. I have a smoothie every day for breakfast! I love them! I have never tried to freeze them in mason jars though- that’s genius! Thanks for the tip!!!

    • I love smoothies! Let me know how you like freezing them so you can have them for lunch.
      I have been following all of your instagrams of your healthy lunches; they look great! Keep it up!

  2. Pingback: Weekly Menu 3-16-14 & Carnita Soup | The Pomeroy Life

Leave a Reply

