A Few of my Favorite Things: Friends.

So it took me a week to write this post, maybe it is just because I had such a wonderful time that it rendered me speechless for a while.

This last week has been full of wonderful things =).  Some of my favorite things. Friends.

To begin with I would like the whole world to know that as the New-Girl-in-Town… I am making friends! I had my two best friends from Kansas visit, ran into a friend at Kroger (made my day, thanks Karen!), had two more friends over for dinner, had coffee with another person, and had phone calls from two of my dearest friends.  To sum it up- this caterpillar is becoming a social butterfly!

Friends are some of my favorite and most valued things.  They bring spice and color to life.  They are memories waiting to happen.  Friendships are the most potent medium for leaving your mark on the world. Friends brighten your day with the snap of their fingers.  They are there for you, and you are there for them.

So for Labor Day weekend my two good friends from high school Paul and Melanie came to visit.  Paul is essentially my brother.  He has been there in the hard times when I needed a shoulder, he has been there to make the good times better, to turn the ordinary into shenanigans, to gasp when he saw me on my wedding day, and he was even there, glue gun in hand, to help me finish wedding invitations.

Paul and Melanie seeing some Kentucky culture =)

And Melanie, Paul’s girlfriend, was my best bud in high school and elevated to roommate status all through college.  She and I have swapped taking care of each other on countless occasions, and have watched each other grow through all the twists and turns life has to offer.

They braved the torrential downpours of Hurricane Isaac to get here, but they made it!  We had a great weekend exploring Kentucky, introducing them to Will and I’s world, and showing off our home (video tour to come, I promise). We saw the sites, had Graters, and Cincinnati chili, chatted, cooked, and even roasted marshmallows on the deck while listening to the rain all around us…. the boys may have gotten into a few wars with the marshmallows….

Enjoying our friends’ weekend =)

After they left Will’s friend from high school and his wife Emily came over for dinner.  We gave them the royal treatment (warning the following may cause your mouth to water): Salmon, Steak, Mashed Potatoes, and Brownies a la mode!

So many good moments with friends this week. Including getting my first pumpkin spice latte of the season- FO’ FREEE! ALRIGHT!

Pumpkin Spice Latte the delicious harbinger of my favorite latte- the wintertime Gingerbread Latte

 Oh Paul and Melanie also got to experience my farm girl side for the first time.  They came up to the farm with us to see how beautiful it is, and got to witness us bringing in this harvest: 

a very little bit of the garden is still producing…. obviously the part that is are the tomato plants. Took 20 minutes for Will and I to pick all those

the pumpkins that the birds didn’t get to.
that second one from the right is at least as big as my torso

One response to “A Few of my Favorite Things: Friends.

  1. YAAAAY!!!
    What a good weekend! 🙂

Leave a Reply

