Caramel covered Baked Apples!

If you want a delicious and impressive looking dessert that isn’t hard to make, well you have come to the right blog post.

I saw something on pinterest that inspired this.  The pin involved apples, ice cream, and caramel.  Not much room for that combo to disappoint the taste buds.  The one thing I didn’t like about what I saw was that they were raw apples.  Now I know this is odd, I don’t like apple pie, I don’t like a tone of apples in my apple crisp, but I do like baked apples.  I know I am strange, but it’s ok.  I’ve come to terms with that fact.  So I investigated and found out how to make baked apples.  And this is the result:

MMMMMMMMMMMMM.

What you need:

  • Apples- 1 per person (bigger is better because there is a bigger hole in the middle for filling with ice cream)
  • Brown sugar- (see narrative for measurement)
  • Cinnamon
  • Butter (no more than a couple of table spoons)
  • Vanilla ice cream
  • Caramel ice cream topping
  • Hot water
  • Baking Pan

What to do:

  • So first you are going to want to preheat your oven to 375° F.
  • You want to core your apples.  I don’t have a corer, a slicer, but no corer.  So What I did was cut off the tops and then use a spoon to scoop out the middle.  I think that this honestly works better though because you get to carve out a better “bowl” for your ice cream later.
  • Not mix the brown sugar and cinnamon.  I used about  1/3 cup of brown sugar for 4 apples.  This measurement depends on the size of your apples and on how many you are making.   Cinnamon, I would say I used a teaspoon.  I love cinnamon, so I never measure it, I just go for it.
  • Now you are going to want to fill your apples with the cinnamon sugar mixture.  Once they are filled you put a little pat of butter, so about a teaspoon, on top of each apple.
  • Cover the bottom of your baking pan with hot water.
  • Place the apples in the pan and bake for 30 minutes.

To Serve:

What I did was, once the apples cooled some, put the apple in a bowl and dump the delicious brown sugar juice mixture that formed in the middle out into the bowl.  I then rolled the apple around to get that brown sugar goodness all over the apple.  Next shove a scoop of ice cream into the apple, you are probably going to have to use your fingers a bit.  Now top them with caramel sauce- Heat it up, drizzle, pour… however you like.

Tu-duh!!! You have a beautiful and delicious dessert.  Now if you or the person you are serving this to are a little challenged with a knife and a spoon then I would cut the apples up before topping and serving.  Not as pretty, but at least you will get to enjoy their flavor free from the frustration of cutting them.

Leave a Reply

