Wanting a Taste of Heaven- Thai Veggie Curry

“Oh what a foretaste of glory divine”

~Blessed Assurance

I want to open by writing about something that I have been thinking through lately- Heaven.  I find myself having a hard time wrapping my head around it.  So the other day I asked God to open up my eyes, ears, nostrils, tastes buds, and fingertips to foretastes of heaven here on earth.  Well being faithful as He is, God told me something this morning.  As I was sipping my first cup of coffee and fixing my hair and makeup for work, I heard Him say to me “If you want a foretaste of Heaven, you have to be that foretaste to others.  That is how my kingdom works. Like the prayer says ‘Your Kingdom come, Your will be done, on earth as it is in Heaven.’  That is what you are here for; to bring about foretastes of my kingdom.”

While God doesn’t always give us the answers we want, he does give us answers.  I would have preferred a dream or a vision, miracles or prophecy, and sudden intense intimacy with the Holy Spirit, but what He gave me was a word that applies to my life.  A word that will bring Him more glory than just giving me a vision would.  If I choose to accept that mission, God will be glorified, my eyes will be opened, people will be loved, and the Kingdom will come on earth as it is in Heaven.

A life led loving the unlovable, choosing to be full of joy, being generous, stopping to smell the roses, and waking up every morning grateful for another day to be like Jesus and enjoy God’s creation-  that is a life full of foretastes of Heaven waiting to tantalize our senses and stir our hearts with longing for our Heavenly home.

Now, for a heavenly tasting dinner try some Vegetable Thai Curry:

I convinced Will to try curry and this is the recipe that we started off with.  Be warned it makes a TON!  We had 2 big dinners, and Will had 3 lunches.  So it probably makes like 9 servings.   So you may want to half it.  The Recipe we used came from: http://www.cookeatdelicious.com/thai-recipes/thai-yellow-curry-recipe.html.  But this is how we make it:

Thai Vegetable CurryReady to be eaten!

Thai Vegetable Curry
Ready to be eaten!

Ingredients

  •  olive oil (for sautéing)
  • 1 onion (sliced into semi circles)
  • 3 tbsp freshly minced ginger
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 4 tbsp yellow curry (you can use paste or powder- we used powder because it is what we had)
  • 2 cans of coconut milk (the second time we bought a carton of coconut milk instead, because it is cheaper)
  • 3 potatoes, diced
  • 1 red bell pepper (sliced)
  • 1 orange bell pepper  (sliced)
  • Red Pepper Flakes (optional)
  • 3 tbsp soy sauce
  • 3 cups of cooked rice

Process

  • Dice the potatoes and start frying them in the skillet with a little bit of oil.  The original recipe says to boil them, but we preferred the texture of fried.  Either way, start them first.
  • Slice the onion and peppers and mince the garlic and ginger
  • Once the potatoes are about done- In a large, deep skillet (you’ll need it) heat 2 tbsp of olive oil and add the curry.  Let the curry “fry” for a minute or two.
  • Next add the onions, garlic, and ginger to the curry/oil mixture.  I like to add a little more oil at this point since the curry soaks it all up. Cover the pan and let them cook for 5 minutes.
  • Now add the bell peppers and potatoes to the onion/curry.  Mix it up and add the coconut milk.  Mix all of that (told you that you needed a large, deep skillet).
  • Now cover and cook over low heat until the peppers are softened.
  • The curry powder we used didn’t have a kick, and Will and I are fans of just about all food with a kick.  So if that’s you too add some red pepper flakes.  Don’t go too crazy though.  They will heat up the dish plenty with just a few.
  • Once peppers are softened add soy the soy sauce.
  • Serve over a bed of rice.
  • Enjoy!

_______________________________________________________________________________

Life has been a lot of good fun lately =)

My parents were recently in town for a visit and that was a wonderful weekend.  Will and I got a chest freezer while we had the use of Mom’s minivan, and in the process I think that he has been officially converted to liking Sam’s Club. =)

Will and I attended a missions conference over Christmas break to find organizations that we could possibly join and go to China with in the future.  You know, knocking on doors to see which ones God opens.

Izzy Pup has all of her adult teeth now!  She weighs nearly 40bls. When we first got her the cats at the farm looked like these colossal giants because of how teeny she was, but this past weekend I just had the revelation that they look small again.

Things to be on the lookout for:

  • I am starting to make a T-Shirt Quilt
  • Spring Break Happenings (Kayla is visiting- in less than 3 weeks!)
  • More recipes
  • Progress on my half marathon training- I am already halfway there and still have 2 months to train =)

You May Also Like:

The Go-To Fried Rice Recipe

The Go-To Fried Rice Recipe

Keeping the Fruit Coming

Keeping the Fruit Coming

Taking It to the Streets- STC

Taking It to the Streets- STC

2 responses to “Wanting a Taste of Heaven- Thai Veggie Curry

  1. Pingback: Happy Hour Friday – Happy Chinese New Year! | The Pomeroy Life

  2. Pingback: Going Vegan-ish | The Pomeroy Life

Leave a Reply

