Lemon-Lime Pie with Spiced Crust (I LOVE to Bake)

I love to bake.  I enjoy the process- I enjoy making a mess, licking the bowl, creating something new, and the look on someone’s face when they bite into a slice of pure baked goodness.  As such I am working hard on my quest to make the perfect chocolate chip cookie.  I mean the chocolate chip cookie with the perfect melt in your mouth taste, the aesthetically pleasing appearance, and the right consistency.   I hope to perfect both normal and gluten free chocolate chip cookies by the time I have kiddos who are old enough to truly appreciate them, but with Will’s love for them I think I will complete my quest much sooner!

And rest assured, when I do perfect them, I will not share my secrets, just like I will not post the brownie recipe that won Will’s heart on here either.

Those cookies were pretty high up on the perfect scale, and that glaze was seriously the most amazing stuff I've ever had.

Those cookies were pretty high up on the perfect scale, and that glaze was seriously the most amazing stuff I’ve ever had.

However, I will tell you about my latest baking success.  Like I said, I really enjoy it.  Actually, I would love to be able to just sell baked goods someday (so if you are going to need some cookies, brownies, cake, muffins, cupcakes, pies, ect.. for whatever I would be glad to do the leg work for you!).  I think that would be a job I would truly enjoy with all of me, because baking for people is how I tell them that I love and value them.  Will ought to know that by now.  It’s a wonder he hasn’t put on the “freshman 15”!  Although, I suppose he still has about 4.5 months left of our freshman year of marriage to try to achieve it….

Well, I asked him what dessert I should make this week (something other than chocolate chip cookies).   He said he wanted something lemony, but not cookies.  I got friendly with Google and picked a couple recipes to try.  Now there was a pie incident when we first started dating that I needed to redeem myself from (good thing the brownies preceded that pie….)so naturally I was on the hunt for a lemony pie.

The recipe I ended up using was for a Lemon-Lime Pie (original recipe found here).  That crust was pretty complicated for your traditional crust, and I wanted to mix it up a bit, so I used the crust from this recipe (I want to make that pie sometime… it looks great!).

Here is the pie fresh out of the oven =)

Here is the pie fresh out of the oven =)

So Sunday afternoon I went to work and made the pie while Will played a computer game with some guy friends and got to brag about how his wife was making him a pie.  I like to supply my husband with ample reason to brag. I suppose that isn’t terribly Christian of me, but in this case I don’t think that it was wrong.  And trust me; the end result was worth bragging about.  I think I have redeemed myself in the pie department.

Here is how I did it:

here is everything that you will need for the pie.Sadly we skip from this to the finished product because i got caught up in baking and my dirty hands forgot to take more pics.

here is everything that you will need for the pie.
Sadly we skip from this to the finished product because i got caught up in baking and my dirty hands forgot to take more pics.

Crust

  • 1/3 cup Sugar
  • 1 stick Unsalted Butter, at room temperature*
  • 1 pinch Salt
  • 1 1/2 cup All-Purpose Flour + 2 tablespoons All-Purpose Flour**
  • 1 Extra-Large Egg***
  • 1/2 teaspoon Vanilla Extract
  • 2 tablespoon Molasses
  • 1/2 tablespoon Ground Ginger****
  • 1/4 teaspoon Ground Cinnamon

*I used a stick of margarine straight from the fridge

** I had to add an extra tablespoon or so, and then of course you need more for rolling it out.

***I didn’t realize this till just now, but our eggs are just plain old large eggs.  Nothing extra about them.

****Found out I didn’t have this.  So I used about a teaspoon maybe a little more of cinnamon and a ½ teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice.

Now here is how to make it, it is super easy!  No pastry cutter required!  This is good because we don’t have one yet…

  1. Preheat the oven to 325
  2. Cream butter, sugar, and salt until smooth.
  3. Add the rest of the ingredients and mix well until it is a nice smooth dough.
  4. On a lightly floured surface roll it out till it is 13” wide and ¼” thick.
  5. Put it in a greased and floured pie pan, trim off the excess, and crimp the edges.
  6. Bake for 15 min.

Redford family tradition: Save the dough you trim off put the pieces on a cookie sheet and sprinkle with cinnamon sugar.  Bake with the crust if it bakes separately first.  Otherwise just cook them for 10-15 minutes till they are golden and desired crispiness =)

I just want to point out that for once in my life, I made a pie crust and put it into the pan without breaking it into a hundred pieces or poking holes in it!  I was quite proud of myself.  But here is my clever secret: a reusable cookie sheet liner.  I think that you could use parchment paper, and it would work the same because the little sheet I used is essentially parchment paper’s steroid addict older brother.  I put flour over it and rolled the dough on top of it.  Then I slipped my hand under it, help the pie pan over it, flip, and Ta Duh!

While the crust is in the oven make the filling.

Filling

  • 6 large eggs (yes, a whole half dozen!)
  • 1-1/2 cups granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup fresh lime juice (4 to 6 limes)
  • 1/4 cup fresh lemon juice (about 2 lemons; grate the zest before juicing)
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1 tablespoon grated lemon zest
  1. Mix the eggs and the sugar till they are smooth, and thoroughly combined.
  2. Add the lemon and lime juice and mix until smooth (this part was painful because dry hands + acidic juice = salt in wound…).
  3. Add the cream and mix until smooth.
  4. Strain this mixture to get all the pulp and seeds out.
  5. Add the lemon zest (you have to do this last, otherwise you strain it out).
  6. Pour into the pie crust once it is cooked.  Don’t let the crust cool.  Hopefully your filling is ready to go into the crust as soon as it is done.  I think my crust had to sit out for a minute or two, but not long enough to cool.
  7. Put foil around the edges of the pie to protect the crust.  I forgot to do this and the crust that I was so proud of was a little burned.
  8. Bake the pie for 50 minutes or just until the middle is set.
  9. Cool on a wire rack, then put in the fridge and cool for another 6 hours.  Confession: We got impatient and ate it after 4 hours!
Here it is when we cut into it four hours later. =) It was perfect!

Here it is when we cut into it four hours later. =)
It was perfect!

I hope you enjoy this pie as much as we did!

Leave a Reply

