March Madness

The last couple of weeks have been pretty crazy ones in the Pomeroy House.  But, as proof of how crazy I am, I enjoy crazy times.  The crazy times teach you a lot about yourself, AND they teach you the value of an evening spent relaxing on the couch.

Two weeks ago, one of my best friends in the world was here spending her spring break at our house.  Unfortunately we are both miserable at remembering to take pictures, but here is one to prove that I am not lying.

Enjoying Our Italian Cream Soda's at Bakery Blessings & Bookstore

Enjoying Our Italian Cream Soda’s at Bakery Blessings & Bookstore

While she was here we introduced her to Cincinnati style chili, Grater’s ice cream, and Will’s family’s farm.  It was so nice to see her again, see how excited she is for her upcoming trip to Africa, to show our life to her, and to celebrate her birthday with her.  Oh and if you are in Lexington and suddenly develop a craving for African food, the owner of Sav’s grill is the nicest guy.  He came and talked to us for a few minutes when we took Kayla there for her birthday. 

For her Birthday we had Gluten Free Chocolate Cobbler in lieu of your traditional birthday cake.  If you think that chocolate cobbler sounds good (trust me it was!) then check the recipe out here.

We didn't have cake candles, so Kayla got the real, smell-good kind.  ....the things you don't think about.

We didn’t have cake candles, so Kayla got the real, smell-good kind. ….the things you don’t think about.

The week Kayla was here we had Izzy Pup spayed, and the next week was quite busy with our normal activities, catching up on other things, and preparing to take some trips.  Will was invited to join two of his really good guy friends, who live in PA, for a weekend in DC.  Since he was going to be gone for Easter, I headed back to Kansas to spend the weekend with my family.  That was a whirlwind weekend, but both of us had great times.

I told my mom that as her requested birthday present, I was going to stick bows on myself when she met me in the airport.  And I am a woman of my word.

I told my mom that as her requested birthday present, I was going to stick bows on myself when she met me in the airport. And I am a woman of my word.

My Dad had already changed... what was he thinking lol.

My Dad had already changed… what was he thinking lol.

Oh and I almost forgot!  We celebrated Pi day with Brain and Peggy on 3/14!  We had pizza pie and key lime pie. =)  It was fun teaching Brian and Peggy how to make homemade Pizza.  Since they are from Taiwan and China they have never had the pleasure of putting your own toppings on and making a pizza exactly the way you want it.

Please notice where Izzy is looking.  Evidently she knows what's up.

Please notice where Izzy is looking. Evidently she knows what’s up.

I also celebrated Pi day at work as well (it’s appropriate to celebrate such nerdy holidays at an engineering firm).  I made a “Derby Pie” for the guys.  I didn’t even know that was a kind of pie till I was told to make it.  Evidently it is famous in these parts- Kentucky Derby, and all.   I am not going to post the recipe because it is actually copyrighted, but I highly suggest that you Google it and make it yourself.  If you want a pie that tastes like chocolate chip cookie dough, then it’s the pie for you.  I promise.  It was amazing!

Anyway, that was our March.  It was a month full of awesome memories!  And I think that April and May will be as well!  I can tell that Spring is finally conquering a long, dreary Winter, and I am pumped!

 OH!  Will’s Birthday is this weekend, so stay tuned!

 March was a very hit and miss month for training, but here is where I stand in preparing for my half-marathon:
Half-Marathon Countdown: T-25 days. 
Longest Training Run: 11.5 miles
Total Miles Run since Jan 1:  172.5 miles
Leave a Reply

