Super Lemony Gluten Free Lemon Cake

All of my life, in my family, the birthday cake was a big deal.  I would always pick strawberry with some kind of wacky icing.  OR I would ask for an awesome decorating job from my amazingly talented Moms.  She would turn my birthday in to the lion king, a hundred and one dalmatian paradise, or a super legit looking soccer field cake.  She made cake that were as big and stacked as wedding cakes.  She even fulfilled my request (although I don’t know why i ever made it…. I was a hippy in those days.  who am I kidding, I still kind of am) for a flower power-ish purple and orange cake.  yes.  BUT it was chocolate =).

Around 12-13ish I decided that I wanted to take over in the cake decorating realm of my life.  My cakes were always plenty wacky (partially to annoy my grandpa who believes the only good cake is chocolate with chocolate frosting), but my cakes were never as pretty as the ones my mom made.

So that brings me here-  new to wife-dom.  So I decided that like all good women, now is a good time for multi-tasking.  In an effort to appreciate, spoil, and make Will feel extra special on his birthday I also got baking and cake decorating practice!  =)

So I'm not my mom....

So I’m not my mom….

You can ask Will, I pestered him for weeks about what he wanted for his “birthday cake or birthday cake alternative.”  I even had a board on Pinterest for ideas for what to bake.  Well he finally decided he wanted lemon cake.  So with me being gluten free I made a gluten free lemon cake, with lemon curd filling, and lemon buttercream frosting, FROM SCRATCH!  And for kicks and giggles to really make Will’s day I threw a layer of funfetti cake in the middle.

Here is the recipe that I used to make an AMAZING cake!  an ADDICTING cake!  AND  it didn’t seem gluten free at all =)

So I'm not my mom....

So I’m not my mom….

GF Lemon Cake Layers

 Ingredients

2 1/2 cups Brown-Rice Flour Mix (recipe listed later)

1 tablespoon baking powder

1 teaspoon xanthan gum or guar gum

1 cup milk

1 cup canola oil

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1 teaspoon lemon extract

1 tablespoon finely grated fresh lemon zest

2 cups granulated sugar

4 large eggs

1 package lemon jello mix

Here are the Ingredients

Here are the Ingredients

Instructions

Preheat the oven to 350°F.

Grease 2 (9-inch) round cake pans.  The original recipe said to line the bottom of each pan with a round of parchment or wax paper, then oil the paper.   I would suggest trying that, because I didn’t and my cakes loved the bottom of their pans a bit too much.

Whisk together the flour mix, salt, baking powder, and xanthan gum until combined well.

Stir together the milk, canola oil, vanilla, lemon and zest in another bowl.

Beat together the sugar and eggs in a large bowl with an electric mixer at medium speed just until combined, about 1 minute.

Reduce the speed to low and alternately add the flour and milk mixtures.

Add the lemon jello mix.

Divide the batter evenly between the cake pans and bake until a tooth pick comes out clean, 35 to 40 minutes.

in the oven =)

in the oven =)

Cool the cake layers in pans on wire racks for 10 minutes. Run a thin knife around edge of one cake layer and flip the cakes out onto a plate.

Here they are fresh from the oven!

Here they are fresh from the oven!

Peel off the paper and cool layers completely.

Brown-rice flour mix

2 cups brown-rice flour (extra finely ground)

2/3 cup potato starch

1/3 cup tapioca flour

Lemon Curd Filling

 Ingredients

1 cup Sugar

1 cup Water

3 tbls Flour

5 Egg Yolks

½  cup Fresh lemon Juice

4 Tbls Butter

2 tsp lemon zest

 Instructions

In a medium saucepan, combine the first 5 ingredients in the sauce pan over medium heat.  Stir constantly, until it is thick enough to coat the back of a wooden spoon (7-8 minutes).

Add the butter and stir till it is all melted in and thoroughly mixed.

Add lemon zest.

Let cool to room temperature.

You can store it (covered) in the refrigerator.

the lemon curd filling =) it tastes like a delicious pie! I cut the pie layers in half and put lemon curd in the middle of them!

the lemon curd filling =) it tastes like a delicious pie!
I cut the cake layers in half and put lemon curd in the middle of them!

Lemon Buttercream Frosting

Ingredients

1 cup Butter

2 Tbls Lemon Juice

4 cups Powdered Sugar

1 tsp Lemon Extract

Instructions

Beat butter till fluffy

Add lemon juice and blend

Add powdered sugar.

When everything is well blended taste to see if there is more lemon juice needed or powdered sugar as needed for thickness

*** I used more lemon juice and powdered sugar than needed.  I also made a double batch in my blender at one time.

Finished Product:

20130406_214849

here is it! the glorious inside of the cake!

here is it! the glorious inside of the cake!

4 responses to “Super Lemony Gluten Free Lemon Cake

  1. Pingback: Happy Hour Friday- Homemade Coffee Frappuccino | The Pomeroy Life

  2. Pingback: Gluten Free Flour Blends | The Pomeroy Life

  3. Pingback: Munchie Monday: Will’s Birthday Cake | The Pomeroy Life

  4. Pingback: Munchie Monday: Will’s Birthday Cake

Leave a Reply

