My Grandma’s Chocolate Zucchini Bread

During the zucchini pandemonium of the summer of 2012 I introduced Will to zucchini bread.  He had never had it before as was evidenced by his flabbergasted statement “I didn’t know you could make vegetables taste like this!”

Now we have done some crazy things with vegetables: zucchini brownies, “Alfredo” sauce (it’s cauliflower), chickpea blondies, and so on.  But this one isn’t some newfangled, pinterest, hipster, semi-vegan craziness.  This is a tried-and-true recipe straight from my Grandma Ruebhausen (yeah try to say that one).  My Grandma made regular zucchini bread sometimes, but one of the things I remember making all of the time with her growing up was Chocolate Zucchini Bread!  It is amazing.  It rises better than normal zucchini bread as well.

It’s light, chocolaty, moist, but not so rich.  It makes the perfect semi-sweet snack or breakfast. 

this is all that was left after a couple of days.  Will had it for breakfast every morning and we gave away the other loaf.  It makes great gifts!

this is all that was left after a couple of days. Will had it for breakfast every morning and we gave away the other loaf. It makes great gifts!
And a shout out to my sister Dara for the adorable bakeware!

Ingredients:

1              large zucchini, peeled, shredded and steamed

2 c.         Sifted Flour

1 tsp      Baking Soda

½ c.        Shortening (I used margarine because it’s what I have)

2              Eggs

1/3 c.     Cocoa Powder

2 c.         Sugar

1 c.         Chopped pecans (I used walnuts)

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350
  2. Cream the sugar and shortening, then beat in eggs one at a time. **Again I used margarine because it’s what I had and it worked great.  I imagine butter would work fine as well.
  3. Add the zucchini and mix well.
  4. Stir in all the dry ingredients (except nuts)
  5. Mix in the nuts. ***I don’t usually add them, this last time I used walnuts.  If you wanted a sweeter, more chocolaty flavor I imagine you couldn’t go wrong with tossing in a cup of chocolate chips as well.
  6. Divide the batter evenly into two greased loaf pans and bake for 50 minutes to an hour.
tall, moist, and delicious!

tall, moist, and delicious!

3 responses to “My Grandma’s Chocolate Zucchini Bread

  1. I don’t think I’m too hipster. 🙂

  2. Pingback: How to Fight Back when Zucchinis Threaten to Take Over the World | The Pomeroy Life

Leave a Reply

