Home-Grown, Home-Cut: Haircut Night in the Pomeroy House

We’re all about being thrifty and about adventures in our family.  So a thrifty adventure is like – Whoa buddy! Alright!

Our latest: Welcome to the Pomeroy Life Salon.  Here you will find glamour shots of our first two victims, uh I mean clients.  Will and I.

I like long hair- I prefer it on myself and growing up I always liked it on men.

Like this guy.  Dean from Gilmore Girls/Sam from Supernatural

Like this guy, one of my childhood crushes – Dean from Gilmore Girls/Sam from Supernatural

Or this guy! Heyyy! Watch it!  That's my husband.

Or this guy!
Heyyy! Watch it! That’s my husband.

So naturally I always plead with Will not to go get his hair chopped off.  However, according to him there is a super fine line between long and too long.  This means he has to get his hair trimmed more often if he keeps it longer, which is more expensive.  That’s part of the reason why my hair is so long.  Women’s hair cuts are pricey! Ladies am I right?!

Being the gifted problem solver that he is Will, decided that if I could learn to cut his hair then he could get it trimmed for free anytime! That means keeping it long for me is not a problem.

Not only is Will a great problem solver, and an excellent model for hipster pictures like the one on the right there (next to the “follow” button *hint hint), he is also a man of great courage.  He let the clumsiest person he knows cut his hair.  It’s a miracle I didn’t mishandle the pair of scissors and cut off his eyebrow and my pinky finger at the same time.

A couple of weeks ago he let me trim just the back of his hair, and on Monday night he had me trim all of it.  And it looks great!

He didn't need much taken off.  But that little bit sure did make a mess!

He didn’t need much taken off. But that little bit sure did make a mess!

Even though we used the kitchen scissors…. It still looks great!

Weapon of choice!

Weapon of choice!

And then there is me.  I haven’t had my hair cut since the beginning of October.  Most of you probably recall that post.  You remember, the one when I got dreadlocks?  That was 8 months ago…  I just can’t bring myself to spend the money, or make the appointment.

I have been contemplating cutting my own hair for a while now because I trim my bangs all the time. It just so happens that we talked about cutting hair at Women’s group Monday night, so when I got home and Will asked me to cut his, I was already in the zone.  And after the success of his I felt confident enough to attempt to trim my own.

So I did!  I cut my own hair!

Side Two  Layer Three

Side Two
Layer Three

I know I am so hipster, thrifty, and adventuresome.  I even have Toms with holes in the toes that I still wear.  AND I blog about it all.  That was sarcasm, HEAVY sarcasm.  I am honestly just too lazy to go to the salon, and with the severity of my recovering jock syndrome flaring up now that the weather is nice my hair is up and sweaty more often than not anyway, so why pay money to make a hot mess of hair hidden in a messy bun look good?

It was nerve-wracking, and Will kept threatening to chop it off at my chin… I told him I would start bawling if he did that.

Here is how I did it.

First, I had to stand on a bucket because my hair was so long I couldn’t see the bottom of it in the mirror.

This is what Izzy does while I get ready in the morning too.  Except I don't have to stand on a bucket for that...

This is what Izzy does while I get ready in the morning too. Except I don’t have to stand on a bucket for that…

Next, I separated all the layers of my hair and put them into different clips on top of my head.  Will said that the way my head looked was more ridiculous than the fact that I was cutting my own hair.

If you can tell there are two different chunks of hair clipped up on my head, those would be the different layer sections.

If you can tell there are two different chunks of hair clipped up on my head, those would be the different layer sections.

The first snip!

The first snip!

I trimmed layer by layer.  First I would make a somewhat straight cut (not being too ambitious with how much length I was chopping).  That cut was to get rid of the nasty ends.  After that I would try to blend it some more by cutting at angles, but honestly I like sort or choppy, edgy layers.

Hair Cut - 4

I would do that same process for each layer making sure that the hair on both sides was even, and asking Will for his opinion, at least 3 times. He actually got to take a whack at some of the pieces I was unable to even out myself.

hair cut

Someday being this adventurous will probably come back to bite me in the butt! For now, the lesson I learned is, don’t cut your hair at 11pm.  It’s quite exhilarating so you won’t be able to sleep for quite a while. Lol.

Izzy's turn! JK!  She is the only member of the fam jam who got out of this night without hair loss.  That's a lie; she is shedding like no body's business.

Izzy’s turn!
JK! She is the only member of the fam jam who got out of this night without hair loss. That’s a lie; she is shedding like no body’s business.

Till tomorrow!

Devra

Ps… for more entertaining stories, recipes, and the like please put your email address in the box on the right and click follow.

4 responses to “Home-Grown, Home-Cut: Haircut Night in the Pomeroy House

  1. very interesting and poor izzy loosing hair.

  2. David and Deborah Redford

    Perhaps your birthday present should include a pair of hair scissors…lol…plus I know an easier way of layering.

  3. Pingback: June Recap: A++ | The Pomeroy Life

Leave a Reply

