Homemade Porch Sign

My longest-standing friend got married last month.  Her name is Vicky, and I have known her since I was in the 8th or 9th grade.  There are a few years between us and for the majority of our friendship there has been at least a few miles between us as well.  Despite those obstacles Vicky has always been one of deepest friendships.  Even if I haven’t seen her in 9 months, I can still open my heart up and pour out to her the things way beneath the surface, and the same is true for her.

That being said, when it was her turn to tie the knot, I knew that I couldn’t just give her a rolling-pin or some cookie cutter gift.  Cookie cutter doesn’t express my value of our friendship, because it has never been cookie cutter.  Instead I decided to make her a sign with her soon to be last name on it.  I knew exactly what I wanted to do for it!  I had seen some pretty cool stuff floating around the internet about how to transfer pictures to wood with Mod Podge.  So I gave it a go.

I did a practice round on some scrap wood with a picture of Will and I; it turned out so good it now graces our table. =)

I know it's blurry, but you can see the cool one I made out of scrap wood blocks of Will and I.

I know it’s blurry, but you can see the cool one I made out of scrap wood blocks of Will and I.

Materials you need

  • Paint (optional)
  • Sharpie (if you’re going to be writing anything)
  • Pencil (if you’re going to be writing anything)
  • Access to a printer
  • A picture
  • A piece of wood
  • Mod Podge

20130609_161801 (1)

What you do

  1. First things first, pick out the picture that you want and print it off on regular computer paper.  I have used black and white pictures and sepia tone pictures.  I do not know what the results will be with full color pictures.  If you try it, let me know how it turns out!

    Here the text is when I reprinted it, and in a bolder font too because I think that will show up better.

    Here the text is when I reprinted it, and in a bolder font too because I think that will show up better.

  2. Now that you have your picture chosen and printed you want to glue it printed side down to the wood with the mod podge.  Make sure you press it down really well and flatten out any bumps. Now you want to let that dry completely.
    I keep forgetting I don't have any more of those little sponge brushes, so for now I do my arts and crafts kindergarten style.

    I keep forgetting I don’t have any more of those little sponge brushes, so for now I do my arts and crafts kindergarten style.

    place the picture, printed side down once covered in mod podge.

    place the picture, printed side down once covered in mod podge.

  3. While the picture was drying I was busy figuring out what I font I wanted to use for their last name and so forth and printing those out.  I also painted the sign a little.  I know, it doesn’t really look like it, BUT I did.  I used a paint the color of a frappuccino, and I did so very thin.  Just wanted it to have some uniform color. If you are doing this with text like I am endeavoring to for this next sign I am making then make sure you remember to have it print out mirrored, because I nearly made a sign that would have come out backwards!
  4. Once the pictures were dry I would get a sponge or my fingers wet and begin dampening the paper so that is would rub off.  If you are having a hard time visualizing that, here is the link to a pretty good tutorial: http://www.apartmenttherapy.com/try-this-print-your-family-pho-160008. You should be left with a very vintage looking picture and no paper.

    See the paper is coming right off!

    See the paper is coming right off!

  5. Once the pictures were de-papered, I began working on the text portion of the sign.  I had already printed off the words that I wanted to use.  I didn’t want to have to mess with a bunch of cutting and messy paint.  So what I did instead was scribble on the back side of the words with pencil so they were covered in the lead.  Then I placed them word side up where I wanted them and traced around the letters, this made the lead on the back lightly transfer onto the wood. Here is a good tutorial on this: http://homespunhappenings-tammy.blogspot.co.uk/2012/04/i-made-sign.html
  6. Once all of my words were outlined it was time to color them in.  All I had was an ultra fine point sharpie…. Two words: Hand Cramp!  Slowly, and precisely I filled in all the letters.  The Sharpie actually worked better than paint because it looked old and worn rather than thick and new.
  7. Ideally at this point you would affix something to the back to hang it by.
  8. Now put your sign somewhere where everyone (yourself included) can gawk at your awesome handiwork!
Here is the one that I made for Vicky as a wedding present.  Turned out pretty good, no?

Here is the one that I made for Vicky as a wedding present. Turned out pretty good, no?

2 responses to “Homemade Porch Sign

  1. Pingback: BBQ Pulled Pork Taquitos | The Pomeroy Life

  2. Pingback: BBQ Pulled Pork Taquitos

Leave a Reply

