Happy Hour Friday: Man of Steel Review

I am so glad that it is Friday.  This week has been a long one.  A good one!  But a long one.  I have lot’s to look back on and be happy about this Friday.  Including the fact that I got a bonus happy hour this week! Yep, Will’s such a great hubster; he had an ice cold Ale 8 waiting for me when I got home from work on Wednesday (the day when it broke into the 90’s for the first time this year).  I know; he spoils me.

We also had a surprise visit from my Aunt Judy and Uncle Hal that night.  It is so much fun to show people our life, welcome them into our home, and see how thrilled they are by the life God has blessed us with.

But I have to say, that today’s happy hour probably won’t be a raspberry limeade.  It will most likely need to be loaded with caffeine.  Somehow I actually have more energy today than I did yesterday, but I imagine there is a crash in my future.  But today’s a day soaked with caffeine from start to finish.  Literally.  I had a coke at 1am.

Why?

Because Will and I were embracing our waning days of being young whipper-snappers by going to the midnight premier of Man of Steel!  I will give you a little review of the movie so that you can decide how to spend your weekend.

Our tickets and popcorn vouchers. Thank you Groupon!

Our tickets and popcorn vouchers. Thank you Groupon!

I liked the movie, but it is definitely designed for an audience that is already familiar with the Superman saga.  It has the aspects of hope, integrity, and morality that are inherent to Superman’s character. The acting is very good, but the movie is off balance because there is a lot of action/fighting/destruction. It is a very clean movie, no language, nothing raunchy, no blood and guts.

Over all, I really enjoyed it, and I would watch it again for sure.  I know the guy next to me definitely will.  I am surprised he didn’t have hand shaped indentions on his face from where he was constantly holding onto himself in suspense.

Something is amiss here... notice the size difference between my bucket of popcorn and my water.

Something is amiss here… notice the size difference between my bucket of popcorn and my water.

That thing was as big as my torso! and we each had one!  Talk about a hopeless situation, I don't even think that Superman himself could eat that whole bucket!

That thing was as big as my torso! and we each had one! Talk about a hopeless situation, I don’t even think that Superman himself could eat that whole bucket!

The movie’s biggest flaw:

It appeared that Clark Kent was wearing a KU Jayhawks shirt at one point.  Words cannot describe how disappointed in him I was.  I thought Superman would have better judgment than that.

What Clark Kent and I have in Common:

Awesome Kansas roots!  and We both get our strength from the sun…. my muscles are just late bloomers, that’s all.

Tonight I am having a girls’ night with Blair, so we might be trying to make the homemade frappuccinos from last Friday!

One response to “Happy Hour Friday: Man of Steel Review

  1. Pingback: June Recap: A++ | The Pomeroy Life

Leave a Reply

