Father’s Day Brunch: Gluten Free Monkey Bread!

Happy Father’s Day!

I called the Pops earlier to wish him a happy Father’s Day, sadly he his card hasn’t arrived yet, and even more sadly I can’t be there with him.  But that is ok.  Last year, if memory serves me well was the day that he had to leave his little girl in Kentucky after the big move!

I LOVE this pic of my dad and I!

I LOVE this pic of my dad and I!  He always tells me I get my good looks from him!  He’s so smooth!

I am lucky though, I have had an amazing father who has been a role model of godly man.  A man who cares about others.  A man who cherishes his family.  A man who works hard.  A man who treats women right (he didn’t have much of a choice, there were 3 of us and one of him lol).  My Pops would do anything for my sister and I.  He will go buy our face wash and conditioner, put gas in our cars, take me cleat shopping and to starbucks, always cheer for us and brag on us, watches chick flicks with us and reads the magazines we leave on the table so he can understand our secret girl language.

This will probably be lmy favorite picture of my dad and I for the rest of my life.  I had just one nationals, and bent it like beckham to score a corner kick.  AND my whole family came to Florida to see me!   Thanks for always cheering for me pops!  you always helped me pick out the best cleats =) and if it wasn't for all of your hours of practice with me I would have never scored that corner.

This will probably be my favorite picture of my dad and I for the rest of my life. I had just one nationals, and bent it like beckham to score a corner kick. AND my whole family came to Florida to see me!
Thanks for always cheering for me pops! you always helped me pick out the best cleats =) and if it wasn’t for all of your hours of practice with me I would have never scored that corner.

Thanks Dad for helping me go great places in life and find a man as amazing as you!  Will’s better than any guy I could have dreamed up, and I know beyond a shadow of a doubt that he will be an exceptional father just like you!  

 

In honor of father’s day this is what Izzy Pup made and had waiting for her dad when he got home from the farm last night:

Father's day 3 Father's Day 2Father's Day 1

 

Also, a snazzy breakfast is our Sunday tradition, so today we had gluten free monkey bread!  

Look how well it pulls apart!

Look how well it pulls apart!

I made the monkey bread yesterday.  I used this recipe as my go by, but I only made a half a batch.  Below is what I did.  If you want a whole batch then you need to double everything and use a bundt pan.

But this stuff was amazing!  The texture and taste were soooo good.  We had to stop ourselves before eating the whole pan!

Bread:

  • Flour Mix:
    • 3/4 cup brown rice flour
    • 1/4 cup potato starch
    • 1/6 cup tapioca starch
  • additional ¼ cup tapioca starch
  • 1/2 Tbsp rapid rise yeast
  • 1 ½  Tbsp white sugar
  • 1/2 Tbsp xanthan gum
  • 1/8 cup instant butterscotch pudding mix (dry)
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  •  2 Tbsp margarine
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 3/8 cup milk
  • ½ beaten egg
  • 1 Tbsp oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla

 

Gooey Sauce:

  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1-2 tsp ground cinnamon (more or less depending on how cinnamon-y you like it)
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 Tbsp maple syrup
  • 1 Tbsp heavy cream
  • 1 tsp vanilla

 

Directions:

  1. Grease a loaf pan.
  2. Combine all dry ingredients in the mixing bowl.
  3. Put water and margarine in a microwave safe bowl or measuring cup. Microwave until the margarine has melted. Stir. Add milk. Add the oil, egg, and milk. Whisk to combine.
  4. With the stand mixer running (using the paddle attachment), pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients.
  5. Mix on medium speed for 3 minutes.
  6. In a bowl, stir together the 1/2 cup granulated sugar and ground cinnamon. “Form” (it’s too sticky to really form) the dough into 3/4″ balls and roll them around in the cinnamon/sugar mixture to coat them.
  7. Place sugar coated dough into the greased loaf pan. You don’t need to pack them in like sardines, just keep dropping them in till you’re done. If there is any cinnamon sugar mixture left (or if you want to make up a bit more) just sprinkle it over the dough in the pan.
  8. For the sauce: In a small saucepan over low heat, melt the butter. Stir in the brown sugar, maple syrup, & vanilla. Stir until the sugar is dissolved. Stir in the heavy cream. Pour mixture over the top of the dough.

    Here it is ready to go into the oven!

    Here it is ready to go into the oven!

  9. Set the dough in a warm dry place to rise for 20-30 minutes. Bake at 350 degree oven for 30-35 minutes. Remove from oven, let for 5, and then flip over onto a serving dish or plate (or if you’re newlyweds like us, a cutting board).

 

one more pic because it was sooooo ooey-goey and delicious!

one more pic because it was sooooo ooey-goey and delicious!

*****I kept my pan of dough with the sauce in it sitting in the fridge all evening and night then took it out and let it sit out for half an hour in the morning while the oven heated and then baked it.  And it turned out great!

One response to “Father’s Day Brunch: Gluten Free Monkey Bread!

  1. Pingback: June Recap: A++ | The Pomeroy Life

Leave a Reply

