Cookie in a Mug

Big news!

As of yesterday I have been working at Summit Engineering for a whole year!  That’s one year of having a big kid job!  So to celebrate Will took me out for snow cones =).  We got a little kid’s treat to celebrate my big kid job.  So in case you were curious, you can qualify for a 401K and eat snow cones, in fact I think it is the responsible, adult thing to do.

So mine was pretty much straight up syrup, but it was so good!

So mine was pretty much straight up syrup, but it was so good!

It was an even sweeter celebration because Will still did it even though it made us a little late for Serve the City.  I think that is the first time Will and I have ever been late to something.  He is never late.  In fact, he’s rarely even on time; he usually arrives everywhere about 10 minutes early.  His favorite quote is one we heard in church a couple weeks ago:

“The problem with being prompt is that no one is there to appreciate it.”

here's the storm moving in last night.  BTW, I didn't edit this photo at all.

here’s the storm moving in last night. BTW, I didn’t edit this photo at all.

Today, I want to share with you a new family staple.  Will’s little sister Carrieli is addicted to these, and has got Will hooked on them now too.   Cookie in a mug. 

If you’re busy, you live in a dorm, don’t have the time or equipment to bake a batch of cookies, always burn your cookies, or like me can’t stop yourself from binge eating cookies when you make a whole batch – then this is the recipe for you my friend.   It makes just enough,  and once you know the recipe it will only take you about two and a half minutes to have gooey, warm, delicious, homemade dessert!

Cookie in a Mug

Ingredients:

  • 1 TBSP Butter
  • 1 TBSP Sugar
  • 1 TBSP Brown Sugar, packed
  • 3 drops Vanilla
  • 1 Egg Yolk
  • 3 TBSP flour
  • 2 TBSP Chocolate Chips (or as many as you want)
  • A mug
  • A fork

Directions:

  1. In a microwaveable mug, melt your butter.  About 10-20 seconds should be plenty.  It just needs to be melted not boiling.
  2. Add sugars and vanilla to the butter in the mug and mix thoroughly. Be careful when you are adding the vanilla, you really don’t want too much.
  3. Add the egg yolk and mix thoroughly.
  4. Add the flour and mix thoroughly.
  5. Stir in chocolate chips
  6. Microwave 45-60 seconds depending on how cooked you want your cookie to be.
  7. It will be SUPER hot so let it cool for a couple minutes before diving in.
  8. Enjoy!!!

cookie in a mug 2

Also last night, I made myself a brownie in a mug, but that needs some tweaking before it is ready to be shared.  What I mean is that I said something to Will last night that I don’t think I have ever said before in my life- the brownie was too chocolatey! I never thought that was possible.  If I had stopped half way through I would have been fine, but all of it was too much chocolate.  Something else for you to look forward to!

Tonight is Manly Date Night! And I am super excited for it!  I will let you know how it goes tomorrow =)

 

Update:

I perfected the Brownie in a Mug!  If you like this cookie in a mug then check out the brownie in a mug!

3 minutes to having this in your mouth!

3 minutes to having this in your mouth!

2 responses to “Cookie in a Mug

  1. Love these! They are SO delicious and just the right size.. like you said. I found a whole lot of other mug recipes on Pinterest that are very similar to this one… everything from breakfast to dinner to desert.. so essentially you could eat a whole days worth of meals out of a mug.. which is something I really wish Matt and I knew how to do when we were livin’ the dorm life in college lol

Leave a Reply

