Saturday Sweat: Something is Better Than Nothing

By the way, I’m posting this from a plane.

 

This last week has been a little nuts. I worked like crazy and got a head cold, so exercise was kind of put on the back burner. I did get a few miles of running in at the beginning of the week, but other than that and a teeny bit of strength training I had to take it easy. Taking it easy doesn’t come naturally to me, but that’s what my body was dictating.

I was having a hard time with my congestion induced laziness, until i applied Will and I’s adage about finances to my fitness this week. We always tell each other that “something is better than nothing.” You know what, that is true about more than just money. It’s true about so many things in life, including exercise. While you can’t expect that 50 sit ups will give you a ripped six pack. Nor does 3 miles once a week make you able to run a half marathon. BUT when that’s all you have time for those 3 miles or those 50 sit ups still do a lot of good for your body, your mind, and your self-esteem.

My mom will tell you that I used to be really harsh about how much people do or don’t exercise. I could always find the time when I was single and in college so I didn’t understand why married, working folk couldn’t make time for exercise…. until I got married and landed a big kid job. Now I realize that sometimes life is more demanding than exercise. Sometimes you have to take what you can get, try to eat well, and just be proud of yourself for trying.

Sometimes the only thing that matters is that something is better than nothing.

No exercise plan for this next week. I am not sure what my head cold is going to do.

One response to “Saturday Sweat: Something is Better Than Nothing

  1. Pingback: June Recap: A++ | The Pomeroy Life

Leave a Reply

