Off to Africa. K. Love You. Bye.

Something happened today that fills me with pride, excitement, joy, awe, and a smidgen of jealously and sadness.  You see today, one of my very best friends in the whole world is embarking on a life changing and world-changing adventure.  Kayla is headed to Africa!  

KB to Africa 1

This journey started a while back, but I will never forget the day when she told me that she was officially going to take a semester off of school and spend 6 months in Ethiopia.   Will and I both were/are so excited for her.  Going to other countries is an awesome thing in general, but going to another country because you’re stepping out in faith and following God’s call to go serve the people there- that is a truly life changing experience.  I will be keeping up with it by reading her blog, and if you are interested in doing so too here is the link: http://kaylambryant.blogspot.com/

She followed in my footsteps! She won that award for all of her serving off campus.

She followed in my footsteps! She won that award for all of her serving off campus.

I am filled with pride in my best friend.  She is a strong and courageous woman.  She has pursued this opportunity fiercely. Yes, it was hard work, and I am proud of her for putting in the effort.  And you know something, God didn’t overlook that hard work.  At every step in the way He would show up and show off with provision and encouragement for her.  Another tid bit about the two of us: we met because I was her small group leader.  I have watched her grow so much over the last 3 years.  I am not her small group leader; I am her comrade.  I am so proud of her and proud to serve a God so faithful.

Watching Kayla’s journey to this day has also doused me in excitement and joy.  Her zealousness is contagious.  Hearing how her preparations are going, taking her to eat at an African restaurant when she was visiting, hearing her countdown, all of it has been a thrill.  This feeling is deeper than just hype; it is an excitement for how her life will be lastingly impacted and how the lives of the people she will encounter will be radically changed.  God will do this work, and He chose the perfect lady for the job.  You can’t help but have a better day after chatting with Kayla.  She is a very wise woman, but she is also a goof.  The best thing about her is her small-town-Montana charm- no  one is a stranger to her.

Keep an eye on her blog to see how she befriends the people of Ethiopia.

KB to Africa 2

The final emotions that this day brings me are jealousy and sadness.  I hope you don’t think badly of me for being jealous of my friend jettisoning off to a foreign country for a six month adventure of serving the people there.  I have written here more than once about how I have an itch to go an serve, how I so desire to be on the mission field, and how adjusting to the desk job/working through the summer is not easy for me.  So yes, I will own up to it; I am a little jealous of my best friend at the moment.

As exciting as it is though, I am also a little sad.  I want all the best for Kayla; don’t get me wrong.  But you see this is the friendship that we share:

Surprising our other good friend/small group member Aleesha with a hippy birthday cake! We like shenanigans!

Surprising our other good friend/small group member Aleesha with a hippy birthday cake!
We like shenanigans!

this is us after Will and I's wedding.  I have no idea what we were cracking up about, but put much more casual clothes on us and this picture would be an everyday occurrence.

this is us after Will and I’s wedding. I have no idea what we were cracking up about, but put much more casual clothes on us and this picture would be an everyday occurrence.

Hanging out when she came to visit Will and I in KY

Hanging out when she came to visit Will and I in KY

We didn't have cake candles, so Kayla got the real, smell-good kind.

We didn’t have cake candles, so Kayla got the real, smell-good kind.

We stay up late eating ice cream, watch way too much smallville, nearly burn down kitchens when making green beans, eat the most caloric pancakes known to man together, laugh, cry, vent, and talk about absolutely nothing.  When the little things of life crack me up; I tell Kayla.  When my world is off its rocker; I tell Kayla.  When I am frustrated and my short fuse is spent; I talk it out with Kayla. When Will and I got engaged she was one of the first 5 people we told.  When I have something that I want to say, but I don’t think anybody cares to hear something so ridiculous- yep, you guessed it; I tell Kayla.  So yes  I am sad, because the friend that I share my life with is leaving on a jet plane.  I mean Montana/Kansas to Kentucky was enough distance; at least we were on the same continent and cell phone network!

So Kayla, as you are en route this evening, know that I will be reading every blog post, praying, emailing, making time for skype dates, and planning an awesome celebration for the next time I get to see you.

k. love you. bye. ❤

5 responses to “Off to Africa. K. Love You. Bye.

  1. I loved reading this. Dev, you have a great gift for writing. Such a sweet way to send Kayla off! I love/miss you both. I’m proud to say that we had the best small group ever. You both have been such a blessing and encouragement in my life. Also, I love the pic of my hippie cake. Such a great birthday surprise 🙂

    • Leesh! Thank you so much! How are you? we need to chat sometime! also, how about a 3 way skype date with Kayla? Hopefully we can make that happen more than once in the next 6 months!

  2. Dev! I would love to do that! Surely we can find some way to do that. Technology is so wonderful. I’m doing well. Just enjoying my summer at home. How are you? I love seeing blog updates on your life. I miss you!

    • well, I am doing pretty good. If you follow the blog then you know quite a bit about my life at the moment; which is the blogs purpose so I am glad to know it’s working! (you can get it emailed to you daily of weekly if you put your email in and hit follow, in case you’re interested).
      You working anywhere this summer?
      I miss you too! I miss having you guys come over all the time. I mean I like eating pancakes with Will, but it’s not the same. lol

  3. Pingback: June Recap: A++ | The Pomeroy Life

Leave a Reply

