Munchie Monday: Cap’n Crunch French Toast

Right now you are probably thinking, “What in the world is this recipe?” That’s what Will and I thought on our honeymoon when he ordered the special at a local brunch joint in Tampa.  Let me tell you something, that adventuresome order was worth it.  Crunch-a-tizing your french toast and consequently your taste buds will change the way you eat french toast, forever.

I have been wanting to put this up on the blog for a while now, but I always forget to take pictures when I make it. Well I finally took pictures!  BUT I didn’t have any texas toast sliced bread on hand this week so it doesn’t look nearly as good.  It’s really so much better looking and tasting if you use the thick slices of bread. Just so you know, this is a picture of how it usually looks.

Not my pic, but that's how it usually looks.   I wish we had better lighting in our kitchen so I snap pictures this nice.

Not my pic, but that’s how it usually looks.
I wish we had better lighting in our kitchen so I snap pictures this nice.

Usually I think that normal French Toast is a bit bland and soggy.  I’ll eat it, and it’s something out of the norm which is nice.  I just don’t think it’s all it’s cracked up to be.  BUT French Toast Sticks, now that’s a different story!  Growing up I had a slight addiction to those.  But then came the gluten intolerance diagnosis….. back to the so-so French Toast that isn’t even made with “real” bread.

I don’t want being gluten free to condemn my palate (or yours) to bland, boring, soggy, and cardboard.

So when we stumbled upon this French Toast on our honeymoon, my wheels got turning!  Turns out, I can eat this!  Cap’n Crunch might not be ok for all people who are gluten free, but I am fine with it.  It’s a “sweetened corn and oat cereal.”  I read the label and didn’t see anything that would make me sick, and so far it hasn’t.  The Cap’n Crunch coating on the bread gives it flavor and crunch!  It actually tastes a lot like those French Toast sticks I used to chow down on as a kid!

So how do you make this delicious Sunday morning brunch favorite of ours?  Well I will tell you!  Because it would really be criminal of me to withhold this recipe from you.

French Toast - 6

Ingredients:

  • 4 slices of Bread (the thick sliced/texas toast style works the best)
  • 1 egg
  • 3 tbsp Milk
  • 1/2 tsp Vanilla
  • 1-2 cups cunched up Cap’n Crunch cereal
  • butter for the skilletFrench Toast - 4

**this is for a breakfast for 2.  increase/decrease as needed.

Directions:

  1. first you need to crunch up your cereal.  The finer you can get it ground up the better it will work.  Go ahead and crunch up a bunch of it, because I guarantee you that you will want to make this again.  Just keep the excess in a baggy, and you can skip a step next time around- meaning the deliciousness is on your plate and in your mouth even quicker!

    to grind it up, i put it in a sealed baggy and use the rolling pin on it.

    to grind it up, i put it in a sealed baggy and use the rolling pin on it.

  2. Once you have the cereal ground up dump it out onto a plate so you can easily dredge the bread in it.
  3. Now that that is done, beat the egg, milk, and vanilla together in a bowl big enough to dip your bread into.French Toast - 1
  4. Put some butter in a skillet to melt.French Toast - 10
  5. Dip the bread in the egg mixture, then coat it in the crushed up Cap’n Crunch.French Toast - 11
  6. Fry your coated slices of bread in the skillet.  You want it to be a bright golden color and be crispy on both sides.  Watch how hot your skillet is, because if it’s too hot you will burn the coating but not cook the bread all the way through.
  7. To serve it top with syrup, honey, powdered sugar, or jam.  Or just eat it plain because it has plenty of pizzazz all on it’s own!

    French Toast - 3

    I may have burned Will’s just a touch, but it still tasted great!

 

One response to “Munchie Monday: Cap’n Crunch French Toast

  1. Pingback: Weekly Menu 3-16-14 & Carnita Soup | The Pomeroy Life

Leave a Reply

