Why Am I Always Blogging?

Some of you may wonder why my blog is always appearing in your newsfeed.  Why do I blog?  Why does anyone blog?  What’s it matter what I had for dinner, how I made it, and how hipster of a picture I took of it?  Well here’s your answer.

  1. To stay in touch with all of you.
  2. To cherish life.
  3. To have another outlet for God to use me.

So i  blog for the various reasons listed above; not the least of which is that I want to stay in touch. The people I know are spread out all over the US (and the world), and I honestly don’t have the time to talk to all of you all the time.  I wish I did.  I wish it was as easy to stay in touch as it is at school where you show up and can see and talk to all of your social circles throughout the day.  It’s easy to stay in touch.  Not so anymore.  But this blog is me trying to keep you feeling like you know me even though I may not be geographically near you anymore. If you’re my friend and you have a blog, chances are I read it pretty frequently for the same reason because I fiugre it’s you trying to keep me in the loop on your life.  I actually follow many of your blogs.

two friends in KS

two friends in KS

this bunch is in spread out in several places now.

this bunch is in spread out in several places now.

or these three ladies (ok so Mel made it in here twice...)

or these three ladies (ok so Mel made it in here twice…)

Another large reason is that I am a verbal processor.  I have to get things out of me in order to remember and/or understand them.  Life moves too quick and doesn’t last long enough to miss parts of it.  So blogging is me making sure I savor every drop of it.  I know I post about food a lot, and hopefully it makes your mouth water. I don’t write about food because this is a food blog; I write about food because I really enjoy cooking and want to share that joy with you!  On the flip side, sometimes my posts are vomit inducing rather than mouthwatering because I am writing something cheesy like how Will bought me an 89 cent beverage on Friday.  That probably doesn’t seem important at first, but I don’t want to let those little things, the little joys in life go unnoticed.  Those little things add up!  And I figure maybe me taking notice of my little things can help someone else take notice of theirs =).

Will looking like a Walrus... not a big deal, but a detail I don't want to forget.

Will looking like a Walrus… not a big deal, but a detail I don’t want to forget.

first day we got her! definitely don't want to forget that!

first day we got her! definitely don’t want to forget that!

don't want to forget buying our couch, and all the fun times we had preparing for marriage.

don’t want to forget buying our couch, and all the fun times we had preparing for marriage.

Lastly, blogging is an outlet for my relationship with God.  Maybe you don’t believe in God or maybe you do.  If you do then you know what I mean when I say that I want this blog to be something that lights up the world, blesses others, and brings Him glory.  If you don’t, then I hope you don’t judge me for allowing my convictions to holistically impact my life.

typical morning

typical morning

Those three reasons are, in a nut shell, why I blog.  I would love it if you would follow Will and I’s blog and/or leave us comments.  I will keep blogging no matter if my parents are the only people who read or if hundreds of people frequent every day.  But as my friends, I hope you enjoy glimpses of my life, and I hope that you interact and show me glimpses of yours!

Why do you blog?  Why do you read them?

You may also like:

a post everyday in June

a post everyday in June

The Ferris Beuller Principle

The Ferris Beuller Principle

Summer in China

Summer in China

5 responses to “Why Am I Always Blogging?

  1. I tend to get tongue-tied face to face. I’ve even said some pretty embarrassing faux-pas. I enjoy blogging and facebook because it keeps a casual interaction between folks. I’m more of a reader, though I go through phases of sharing current personal and family events. I appreciate your blog and a few others that I follow. I’m sure I know you better through your posts than I would be able to know you face to face. I love you and and I love what you stand for. Keep up the good work!

  2. Loved this post!

  3. Brenda Puckett

    Devra, I LOVE your blogs…..made the zucchini/corn salsa tonight and David n I really liked it. Your food pics n recipes are so cool—I hate to cook, and you are inspiring me. I am blessed reading the “little things” that you and Will celebrate about each other and your relationship. It really does help me celebrate the small things in life, which are often big things to God. He loves us so much! Keep Him central, keep getting to know and experience Him, and you all will love your life together. 🙂 May you be encouraged in Christ, Brenda Puckett P.s. thanks for sharing!!

    On Thursday, July 11, 2013, The Pomeroy Life wrote: > thepomeroylife posted: “Some of you may wonder why my blog is always appearing in your newsfeed. Why do I blog? Why does anyone blog? Whats it matter what I had for dinner, how I made it, and how hipster of a picture I took of it? Well heres your answer. To stay in tou” >

    • Thanks so much Mrs. Puckett! I am glad you are enjoying it! I love that zucchini corn salsa. And I love how cheap it is this time of year. lol.
      thank you for the encouragement. =) I love seeing all of your family’s pictures from all of your adventures on facebook!

Leave a Reply

