A Paper Anniversary to Remember!

I mentioned last Friday that Will and I were going to be taking a little road trip for our anniversary.  Well, check that off the list!  It was fantastic!  Exactly the relaxing weekend that we both needed, and we did a lot of looking back and savoring our first year of marriage before we go for two!

Yep that happened!

Yep that happened!

We went to Mammoth Cave, but we didn’t stay there.  We got a little cabin about 45 minutes away.  It was a drive to and from, but it was such a beautiful drive that we didn’t mind it one bit.  Plus it was nice to be out away from everything else.  Our Cabin was at Nolin Lake State Park; we were walking distance from the beach if we had wanted to go swimming.

1 yr anniversary- 22 1 yr anniversary- 30

The other plus of having the cabin was having some place that felt homey.  Some place with a couch to lounge on while we listened to the Reds, a TV to introduce Will to Boy Meets World, a kitchen to do our own cooking (because it’s cheaper, healthier, and we really enjoy it!), a patio to sit outside and to look at the stars, and it was someplace where we weren’t surrounded by other people – just gorgeous scenery!

home sweet home!

home sweet home!

the cabin

the cabin

1 yr anniversary- 27

Well you may or may not know that the 1 year marriage anniversary is the paper anniversary.  I happened to decorate with some paper cut outs and wrap Will’s present in brown paper (ie: and inside out kroger bag), but those two things were purely coincidental.  I made him a card out of paper, but I don’t think that counts.  So really my only bright idea for celebrating a paper anniversary was “hey lets be kindergartners and make a paper chain!”   Will was the one with the bright Idea to write memories from this past year on each of the links.  Man, I didn’t realize how many memories we have already made.  Even being general with our memories we still managed to wear out our hands in about 15 minutes.  I suggest you sit down and write out the memories that you have from the past year.  It will be both rewarding and surprising.  

all of our memories!

all of our memories!

The other great idea that Will had for celebrating our paper anniversary was to get us a journal.  The journal that he bought is strictly for anniversaries.  To write in and look back on once a year.  To see the shape and direction that our marriage is taking.   So our new tradition is going to be to each write in it, read each others, then hide it away for a whole year!  Pretty great idea I think.

the journal Will got us

the journal Will got us

Now for two particularly funny high lights from the trip.

FIRST, there is the matter of the gifts that we gave each other.   First, I spent my lunch hour for about a week and a half working on making Will a watch box.  Why a watch box?  Because I was also planning on getting his two watches fixed up for him.  Here is where things get interesting.  I have been planning this for at least a month.  I think I saw one phrase on pinterest and my brain turned it into some completely different grand scheme.  When my fam jam was in town two weekends ago I thought I would get their help.  I asked them if they would take the watches to get fixed so I wouldn’t have to come up with a reason to sneak away to the mall and Will wouldn’t see a payment to the Fossil store pop up.  It was brilliant!

Until, it lead to me discovering my own present!  I was getting Will’s watches out of their tins on his dresser when I felt something else in there.  I pulled it out, gasped, and said “OH NO!!!!!” My mom eagerly awaiting her secret agent assignment says “What?  What is it? What’s wrong?”  Me: “I think I just found my anniversary present…..” Mom: “Well, what do you think it is?”  Me: “I think Will got my watch fixed for me….” Mom: *bursting into laughter* “Yep.  You found your present alright.”  Me: *lightbulb coming on* “Wait a second…. I was getting his watches fixed!  We got each other the same present?!  We haven’t even talked about this!  How did this happen?!” Mom: *still laughing* “I know!  It’s so great isn’t it!  Will told your dad what he was doing for you, and when he told me I just died!”

the watches!  and Hubster's contribution to our decorations with the moss and tea lights!

the watches!
and Hubster’s contribution to our decorations with the moss and tea lights!

So yes, we both got the other person’s watch fixed. Me getting Will’s watches was nothing spectacular; I just did it because I know he likes them but never has a chance to go get links added and batteries changed.  On the other hand, Will having my watch repaired was incredibly sweet and thoughtful.  My watch is a present from my grandparents.  My grandpa has spent hours scouring jewelry displays picking out just the right watch for each of his 6 granddaughters when we graduated high school.  So I have had my watch for 5 years, but about 3 years ago the glass broke out of the face and I haven’t been able to wear it since.  Will knew all of that.  I was floored when I discovered that is what he had done for me!  No wonder he’s been bragging since May about the fact that he knew what he was going to do for our anniversary!

1 yr anniversary- 19

That's the watch box I made

That’s the watch box I made

Funny Story No. 2: 

Apparently “rolling through a stop sign” and being nervous when pulled over = you must be high on pot.  So Monday morning we wanted to go for a hike before heading home.  So we are driving around Mammoth Cave National Park trying to find a trial that is longer than .4 miles.  During this process we came to an intersection at the same time a park ranger did.  That ranger was probably one of 3 other vehicles we had seen in the park so far that morning.  Anyway, the ranger starts following us, so we go ahead and pull over.  He says that he stopped us because we didn’t completely stop at the stop sign back there.  Well, he doesn’t stop there.  He proceeds to ask Will to get out of the car.  Asks him why he seems so nervous (uh, hello ranger with tanning bed goggles tan line, you pulled us over… of course we are nervous!).  Then he asks will when the last time he smoked marijuana was.  Then he asks to search Will.  Then he asks me what this little flower was (Will had picked it for me at the lake that morning).  Asks me to get out.  Asks me if I have any drugs.  Asks to search the car (which he left a mess).  I am not sorry to say that we disappointed him.  But when ever there is an opening for a Customs person on the Mexican boarder…. look that park ranger up.  

That was such a weird experience.  Will and I have never done drugs, nor has anyone ever been suspicious that we did.  So as we stood there at the back of our car which was bouncing up and down as the tanning bed ranger man tore it a part with a passion I just looked at Will and said “Happy anniversary!  Here’s to us not getting arrested!”

Oh and by the way, he didn’t apologize, but he also didn’t give us a ticket.  So I guess we’re cool.

Here are some pictures from the rest of the weekend’s adventures for you to enjoy!

1 yr anniversary- 1

We canoed that River.  It's the Green River, and it's beautiful for canoeing!

We canoed that River. It’s the Green River, and it’s beautiful for canoeing!

Mammoth cave has mammoth trees too!

Mammoth cave has mammoth trees too!

...it's like we went to the Red Woods or something.

…it’s like we went to the Red Woods or something.

king of the forest

king of the forest

soooo tall!

soooo tall!

from the local ice cream stand!

from the local ice cream stand!

20130728_095857 (1)

Just got done spending 3 hours crawling around a cave~

Just got done spending 3 hours crawling around a cave!

I thought it was fitting to wear white on our anniversary =)

I thought it was fitting to wear white on our anniversary =)

You May Also Like:

A Hyper Bride to Be

A Hyper Bride to Be

Tying the Knot and Opening Boxes

Tying the Knot and Opening Boxes

Growing Up. Maybe.

Growing Up. Maybe.

 

5 responses to “A Paper Anniversary to Remember!

  1. I was still enjoying the 1st funny situation when I read the 2nd! I must say, that ranger did not know you two at ALL!!! still enjoying your blog as I have a chance to catch up.

  2. Pingback: Munchie Monday: Blackberry Scones | The Pomeroy Life

  3. Pingback: Happy Hour Friday – Will’s Birthday | The Pomeroy Life

  4. Pingback: Munchie Monday: Blackberry Scones

Leave a Reply

