Munchie Monday: Blackberry Scones

For our anniversary get away, we rented a little cabin with a kitchen.  This was nice because we could cut back on food costs, eat healthier, enjoy cooking together, and have delicious things like these scones around!  I made them so we would have something to munch on and something for breakfast.  Plus!  It’s another way to use all those blackberries that we picked!

Blackberry Scones!

Blackberry Scones!

Below is how I made the recipe found here.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup frozen fruit- I used fresh blackberries that had been frozen
  • 3 1/2 cups flour (I used GF and a teaspoon of guar gum)
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons kosher salt
  • 1 cup frozen butter or margarine
  • 2 tablespoons vanilla extract
  • 3/4 to 1 cup buttermilk (I didn’t have any so I did the milk + lemon juice trick)

Blackberry Scones 2

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 375°F.
  2. In a large bowl mix together the dry ingredients (flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt)
  3. Cut the frozen butter into cubes to make it easier to blend into the flour.
  4. Cut the butter into the flour mixture until it is pea-sized.
  5. Clear a little Well in the middle. Pour the buttermilk and vanilla into your well.
  6. Mix the wet and dry ingredients together.  You don’t need an electric mixer. This should come together into a loose, “crumbly mass.”
  7. Walk away for 3 to 5 minutes.  You want to let the dough sit there and absorb all the liquid.
  8. Mix it briefly one more time. Now that it’s absorbed all the buttermilk, if the dough still seems too dry, add more buttermilk 1 tablespoon at a time. You don’t want a super wet dough, scones are supposed to be a little dry.  I think I had to add 1 extra tablespoon, and it was plenty.
  9. Gently fold in your frozen fruit.  You don’t want to crush it all up.  The scones have better flavor and texture when the fruit juice isn’t gushing all through them.
  10. Ok now here is where things really get different for me…. since I was using gluten free flour I didn’t trust the scones to not morph into pancakes once on a cookie sheet in the oven.  Instead I put the dough into a very well greased 9” round cake pan.  Spread the dough out evenly and then slice it up like you would a cake or a pie or what have you.  I think mine was cut into 8 triangles.  Pop it in the oven.  My scones baked for a total of 25 minutes, but at 15 minutes I started taking them out and checking for doneness as well as gently separating them into the 8 triangles again. I think I did that process 2 or 3 times.

If you aren’t making them gluten free I think that you could put them on a cookie sheet shaped like biscuits or in triangles like some scone recipes call for.

The last ten minutes of cook time were involved, but they were worth it! I had perfectly shaped gluten free blackberry scones.  They were more moist than most scones, but Will and I didn’t mind being able to eat a scone without our mouths turning into the Sahara Desert.

To be honest, I don’t think that these seemed gluten free at all!  They were like something moist, buttery, flavorful, and melt-in-you-mouth good that you would get at a coffee shop.

now, go make them for yourself!  You know you want to!

now, go make them for yourself! You know you want to!

 

You May Also Like:

Cobbler Showdown

Cobbler Showdown

Wild Berry Cobbler

Wild Berry Cobbler

Gluten Free Monkey Bread

Gluten Free Monkey Bread

2 responses to “Munchie Monday: Blackberry Scones

  1. Pingback: Munchie Monday – “Black & Blue” Berry Muffins | The Pomeroy Life

  2. Pingback: Munchie Monday – “Black & Blue” Berry Muffins

Leave a Reply

