Munchie Monday: Black Bean Brownie Cookies

The other day my friend Kim from A Book, Coffee, & the Park , said that she is grateful for all her gluten free friends.  She said that thanks to our dietary restrictions she is becoming more and more adventurous in her baking; something that otherwise would not have happened.  I think that she has the right attitude about my digestive predicament.  A lot of times I see being gluten free as restrictive, and my mouth salivates for all the delicious gluten filled goodies that I had 19 years of indulging in before discovering that I am gluten intolerant.

BUT it’s a restriction that kicks open the door to adventure.  Kim is right, there are so many things I try now that I would have never tried otherwise.  Sorry Will, I know sometimes you have to try bites of things that just really aren’t that good.  Thanks for being a trooper.

This Munchie Monday is about a batch of cookies I made last week that if I were gluten tolerant would have never been tried- black bean brownie cookies. I based them off of this recipeBlack Bean Brownie Cookies

Last Thursday I was in the mood to bake, and my sweet tooth was really getting the best of me as well.  BUT I didn’t have much in the way of gluten free flour in the house.  Then I remembered that I had seen a recipe for some super chocolatey cookies made from black beans on pinterest the other day.  Yes, pinterest… don’t judge me; I bet you are on there too.

So I pulled out a can of black beans and the blender and the chocolate chips and went to work with an odd cocktail of ingredients that turned out DELICIOUS! It was like a brownie, but in cookie form.  Will thought the texture was a little different, I didn’t notice it one bit. Plus I like to tell myself that they are healthy because I made them with black beans…. but when you eat 4 cookies, black beans or not you’re still eating 4 cookies.

Black Bean Brownie Cookies

Ingredients

  • 1 can (15 oz) black beans, rinsed well
  • 2 tablespoons almond milk
  • 1.5 tablespoons  peanut butter
  • 2 tablespoons  olive oil
  • 3 tablespoons gluten free flour (i just used the little bit of all purpose blend I had around)
  • ¼ c. unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/3 c. sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • pinch of cinnamon
  • ⅓ c. chocolate chips

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 375
  2. In the blender (or food processor) mix black beans, milk, peanut butter, and olive oil until smooth. It should look kind of like pudding or mouse.
  3. Pour into a mixing bowl.

    Our blender wouldn't have been able to handle the dry ingredients, so I transferred it to a bowl.

    Our blender wouldn’t have been able to handle the dry ingredients, so I transferred it to a bowl.

  4. Add flour, cocoa, sugar, baking powder, vanilla, and cinnamon. Stir with a spoon or spatula until combined.
  5. Stir in chocolate chips.
  6. Drop tablespoonfuls onto the greased cookie sheet (or use parchment paper, or a silpat).  Mine made 12 cookies.
  7. Bake for 10 minutes.
  8. Let cool.
  9. ENJOY!

    fresh from the oven!  Don't they look great!

    fresh from the oven! Don’t they look great!

You May Also Like:

Leave a Reply

