Banana Zucchini Bread

Thanks to a wonderful, restful long weekend I missed Munchie Monday, so this week we are going to have Tasty Tuesday.  I am going to tell you about some delicious bread that I made- Banana Zucchini Bread.  I had some bananas that were WAY brown and a bunch of zucchini from the garden so I thought to myself “it can’t get much better than combining zucchini and banana bread…”

Let me tell you what, it doesn’t.

I took one loaf to Nashville to share with Will’s brother John and his wife Carrie and their girls. It was a big hit, and was nearly gone by lunch time on Saturday. Followed by invitations to visit more often lol.

here's the one that everyone ate up this weekend

here’s the one that everyone ate up this weekend

Well when I started perusing the web for a recipe that combined the two I found one from The Grey Luster Girl. I started with her basic recipe and made a very few adaptations.  This is definitely a keeper that I hope to make many different variations of and perfect over the years.

here is my gluten free loaf that I got really experimental on.

here is my gluten free loaf that I got really experimental on.

Before I share the recipe, I need to tell you that I made it in two batches because I wanted to make a gluten free loaf, make one where I subbed apple sauce for the oil because oil has sooooo many calories and so much fat, and use up some strawberries going bad in the fridge.   So I mixed up half of the ingredients making the chocolate chip one by sticking to the recipe (as a control loaf so I would know how it’s supposed to be), and then I mixed up the second one using apple sauce, gluten free flour, oats, and strawberries.

Banana Zucchini Bread

INGREDIENTS: (enough for 2 loaves)

  • 3 Cups All Purpose Flour
  • 2 Cups Sugar
  • 2 tsp. Ground Cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. Baking Soda
  • 1 tsp. Baking Powder
  • 2 Eggs
  • 2 Cups Mashed Ripe Bananas (about 4 medium)
  • 1 Cup Canola Oil
  • 1 tsp. Vanilla Extract
  • 2 Cups Shredded Zucchini
  • 1 Bag Milk Chocolate Chips

The Bottom one is Chocolate Chip Zucchini Banana Bread.  The Top one is my concoction: GF Strawberry Oat Zucchini Banana Bread!

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Preheat oven to 325°F.
  2. Grease 2 loaf pans.
  3. Beat your bananas in the mixer to mash them up, then mix in the eggs, oil, and vanilla.
  4. Add in the baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon and flour. Mix until the batter is moist.
  5.  Fold in zucchini and two thirds of the chocolate chips.
  6. Divide the mixture into the two loaf pans.
  7. Sprinkle the left over chocolate chips on top of each loaf.  This gives them nice presentation.  If you don’t care about presentation, you could leave out that bit of chocolate or mix the whole bag in at one time.
  8. Bake for 60-75 minutes  until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.  Watch the loaves as they bake; the tops might start getting too brown.  If you think they are starting to burn tear off a piece of aluminum foil and lay it over top of the bread.
  9. Cool for 15 minutes then remove from pans.
here it is sliced into.  So moist and delicious!

here it is sliced into. So moist and delicious!

Strawberry Oat Banana Zucchini Bread (Gluten Free)

INGREDIENTS: (enough for 1 loaf)

  • 1 1/2 – 1 3/4 Cups Gluten Free All Purpose Flour (I used my mom’s go to blend)
  • 1 Cups Sugar
  • 2 tsp. Ground Cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. Ground Nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp. Baking Soda
  • 1/2 tsp. Baking Powder
  • 1 tsp Guar Gum
  • 1/4 Cup Oats (plus some for sprinkling on the top)
  • 1 Egg
  • 1 Cup Mashed Ripe Bananas
  • 1/2 Cup applesauce
  • 1 tsp. Vanilla Extract
  • 1 Cup Shredded Zucchini
  • 1 Cup Chopped Strawberries (plus a few slices to lay on the top)

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Preheat oven to 325°F.
  2. Grease a loaf pans.
  3. Beat your bananas in the mixer to mash them up, then mix in the eggs, oil, and vanilla.
  4. Add in the baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg, and guar gum and flour. Mix until the batter is moist. At this point I thought my batter was a little too moist so I added a touch more flour and a few oats.  Adding in a few oats is something I like to do to gluten free baked goods for texture and flavor.
  5.  Fold in zucchini and chopped strawberries.
  6. Pour into prepared loaf pan.
  7. Sprinkle some oats on top of the loaf and arrange strawberry slices on there as well.
  8. Bake for 60-75 minutes  until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.  Watch the loaves as they bake; the tops might start getting too brown.  If you think they are starting to burn tear off a piece of aluminum foil and lay it over top of the bread.    I had to keep baking mine, I don’t know it was the height of the loaf, the gluten free, or the berries, but this one did not want to finish cooking.
  9. Cool for 15 minutes then remove from pan.

Nutritional Information:

This is for the Chocolate chip loaf I made for Will, John, Carrie, and the kiddos

This is for the Chocolate chip loaf I made for Will, John, Carrie, and the kiddos

This is for the gluten free loaf where I subbed applesauce for oil and chopped up strawberries for chocolate chips.

This is for the gluten free loaf where I subbed applesauce for oil and chopped up strawberries for chocolate chips.

You May Also Like:

Grandma's Chocolate Zucchini Bread

Grandma’s Chocolate Zucchini Bread

Easy Doughnuts

Easy Doughnuts

Super Berry Spinach Smoothies

Super Berry Spinach Smoothies

4 responses to “Banana Zucchini Bread

  1. can you email your mom’s “go to blend” and were do you get guar gum?!

    • I am actually going to be posting it on here within the next couple of days, but I will message it to you as well.
      As for the guar gum, you can use it or xanthum gum. I think you have to go to Whole Foods for the guar gum, but I think you can find xanthum gum in the health/allergy food area at the grocery store. I know that Bob’s Redmill makes it, but there are other brands too I am sure.

  2. Ingredients list includes sugar but it isnot added at any point in the instructions. Didn’t notice until I had the loaf in the oven and was putting the ingredients away. Hopefully it’ll turn out ok.

Leave a Reply

