Labor Day Weekend: Kids say the Darnedest Things

It’s been mentioned in passing a time or two that Will and I road tripped ourselves down to Nashville last weekend (we really don’t know how to sit still, do we).  It was a lovely weekend that deserves its share of the blogosphere.  Actually I am pretty sure that if John and Carrie started a blog or a Twitter account for all the hilarious things their kids say by the time college rolls around they could retire and go on round the world cruises.

For instance:

“Sometimes we go to the dog park, and right next to it is a human park!” 

When playing restaurant:

One of the girls’ orders: “I want a thousand pizzas and 2 million chocolate milk shakes!”
Will’s order: “I want chicken on the barbie.”
The girls: “Chicken and a Barbie?!  Why would you eat a Barbie?!”
Will: “No not a Barbie; it means grilled”
The girls: “Ew… You’re going to grill a Barbie!”

Or this life lesson that they have already learned at so young of an age:

(prompted by the necklace Will gave me) “Boys need to give girls pretty things.”
Me: “Why?”
“Boys need to give girls things they like, pretty things, girly things.  If boys give girls things they don’t like, like boy things then maybe the girls won’t marry them.”

….I think she’s onto something there.

I promise you that there were many other hilarious moments, but most of them you probably had to be there for.

we got to help Evie with her KINDERGARTEN homework project - making a family tree.  who knew they had that kind of homework in kindergarten....

we got to help Evie with her KINDERGARTEN homework project – making a family tree.
who knew they had that kind of homework in kindergarten….

We also had a chance to rest while we were there.  It was nice to have time in the car to talk and dream (or if you are me to nod off).  It was also nice to have a long relaxing weekend.  That is something that I have a hard time doing, but I am glad that we were able to slow down for a few days.  Izzy never slowed down with two other dogs around, but Will and I got the chance to.

She definitely crashed on the way home after 2 and a half days of non stop playing, but look how happy she is about it.  Must have been dreaming about her new friends.

She definitely crashed on the way home after 2 and a half days of non stop playing, but look how happy she is about it. Must have been dreaming about her new friends.

I really enjoyed having some time to relax with John, Carrie, & the girls.  They are all wonderful people who I haven’t had the chance to spend much time with yet.  They are my family, and it’s nice to have had a chance to relax with them, learn about them, learn from them, share with them, and bless and be blessed by them.

For example, John was able to learn firsthand just how messy I am when I cook…. Don’t worry.  I cleaned up after myself.  At least I hope I got all of the “clues that Aunt Devra was there” (that’s what John and Evie referred to all my flour messes and handprints as).  If I didn’t get them all….. sorry about your kitchen Carrie!  The girls say and do funny things, and I am afraid I haven’t grown out of that yet either.

John and I made breakfast for everyone on Labor Day - biscuits and bacon gravy from scratch

John and I made breakfast for everyone on Labor Day – biscuits and bacon gravy from scratch

I made the biscuits (the girls ate up the heart shape... literally lol)   and John made the bacon.  He makes it just the way Will likes!

I made the biscuits (the girls ate up the heart shape… literally lol)
and John made the bacon. He makes it just the way Will likes!

Lastly, while we were there we went to church with them at The People’s Church.  Will pointed out something cool about that- it’s awesome to be able to go to a church service at another church building and realize that you are part of the church, the Body of Christ that reaches all around the world.  We have community here in Lexington, but we can go to Nashville and have community with John and Carrie and their community.

Lessons Learned:

Family is so rich and worth slowing down to enjoy.
I am really bad at Temple Run…. a kindergartner and an elementary student can school me…
Our dog could out last the Energizer Bunny
We are all so blessed.
And…. Kids say and do the darnedest things.

Do you have any hilarious kid stories to add?

 

You May Also Like:

thepomeroylife - Redford Style

thepomeroylife – Redford Style

Why am I Always Blogging?

Why am I Always Blogging?

Introducing my Sister and my Grandma

Introducing my Sister and my Grandma

Leave a Reply

