Munchie Monday – “Black & Blue” Berry Muffins

Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day; in fact, I would gladly eat breakfast food for every meal of the day.  I can’t remember the last time that I didn’t eat breakfast.  If I don’t eat breakfast… you probably don’t want to be around me because eating breakfast is more integral to my disposition than my morning dose of caffeine.

Will, on the other hand, would rather erase breakfast off of his personal menu.  I do have to give him kudos.  For someone who doesn’t care for eating breakfast, he does an amazing job of getting up and making mine for me every weekday while I get ready for work.  But since he doesn’t care for breakfast much, I try to keep tempting things around for him to eat.  A couple of weeks ago it was these Blackberry Scones.  There are still a few homemade Toaster Strudels in our freezer, and I try to always keep some homemade granola on the cereal shelf.

But last week, last week Will got these amazing muffins:

black and blue berry muffins (with lemon glaze)

black and blue berry muffins (with lemon glaze)

I was pretty proud of picturesque and delicious they turned out!  Will really liked them.  They are moist instead of crumbly like most muffins, and according to him they have “awesome flavor.”   He will echo what the blogger I adapted this recipe from said, in that they start to dry out a little after 5 days.  I made a lemon glaze to top them with which Will loved, but next time he wants me to try to sprinkle sugar on the tops like they do at bakeries and coffee shops.  Also next time I will only be making half a batch (unless the half that got put in the freezer thaw out really well, or maybe I will try them gluten free so I can eat them too).

before I glazed them

before I glazed them

yum... lemon glaze!

yum… lemon glaze!

muffins

The main difference between what I did and what Bowen Appetit did is that I used a wooden spoon not my hands to mix the muffins, and I used a mix of blackberries and blueberries.  Also, I glazed them.

20130902_17165420130902_171639

TIP: I suggest using frozen berries in recipes like muffins and scones, because your berries don’t break apart and run through the batter so much, instead they keep a nice pretty appearance and are like little explosions of flavor as you eat your muffin.

Black & Blue Berry Muffins

I thought it was clever to call them “black and blue berry muffins”; to which my mother responded “because you beat them with a spoon! Lol!”  I am glad that someone appreciated my name.

20130902_170741

 INGREDIENTS:

  • 3 cups  flour
  • 1 cup  sugar
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 cup blueberries (mine were frozen)
  • 1 cup blackberries (mine were frozen)
  • 4 eggs
  • 3/4 cup melted butter
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 cup buttermilk

20130902_163058

 DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F. Grease or line a standard 12-cup muffin tin.  My batch ended up making 14 muffins.
  2. Mix the dry ingredients (flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt) together  in a large mixing bowl.
  3. Gently mix the berries to the dry ingredients.
  4. Now make a large well in the center of the dry ingredients to add your wet ingredients to in a minute.
  5. In a separate bowl, whisk together the eggs, butter, and vanilla. Pour the mixture into the well you created in the dry ingredients.  Before incorporating the wet into the dry, pour the buttermilk in trying to pour it around the outside of the dry ingredients.  So you have wet, dry, wet.
  6. Gently mix together  the ingredients.  be slow and careful as you go; you don’t want to splash the batter out everywhere, you don’t want to burst the berries, and you don’t want to over mix the batter.  Not over mixing is what made these muffins moist, and better than your average muffins in Will’s eyes.  Also, the batter will be rather sticky, unlike other muffins I have made.
  7. Fill the muffin tins just about all the way to the top.
  8. Bake for 25-30 minutes, until a knife or toothpick comes out cleanly and tops are just starting to turn golden.
  9. Let the muffins cool for a couple of minutes, gently remove them from the tins. If you didn’t use liners you may need to run a knife around the edges to loosen them up, but I didn’t need to.
  10. Cool completely before glazing.
yum... lemon glaze!

yum… lemon glaze!

Black and Blue Berry Muffins (with lemon glaze)

Black and Blue Berry Muffins (with lemon glaze)

Leave a Reply

