Munchie Monday: Monday Night Football Edition

Last week I told you that this was going to be not only a fall flavored, but a football friendly month of food.  Well, what better way to end my Munchie Monday drought than with something that you can whip up really quick for tonight’s edition of Monday Night Football?!

In case you are wondering, the Dolphins are playing the Saints.  I won’t be able to watch, but I am hoping that Drew Brees and the Saints come marching in because I have a really hard time rooting for a football team named after a smiley squeaky marine mammal.

As you know, Will and I have had a very productive crop of jalapenos this year, so what better way to put them to use than jalapeno poppers?!

I got this recipe out of a Kroger coupon booklet we got in the mail.  It was pretty easy and tasty. I think I may have filled ours a little too much, and I also think that they need more bacon…. What doesn’t need more bacon?  Either way, Will and I both liked them, and will probably be having them as snacks, appetizers, and/or sides as we watch football again in the near future!

Jalapeños & Jenny Wiley - 8 Jalapeños & Jenny Wiley - 3

Jalapeno Poppers

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb fresh jalapenos (ours were from our garden)
  • 8oz cram cheese (I used low fat)
  • 1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese, softened
  • 1 cup shredded taco blend cheese
  • 6 slices of bacon, cooked crispy and crumbled (I don’t think this was enough, next time I will try eight)
  • ¼ reaspoon chili powder (might need more to add depth to the flavor)
  • ½ cup bread or cracker crumbs (I used some from Katz Gluten Free Bakery)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 300F.
  2. Cut the jalapenos in half lengthwise and remove the seeds and “veins.” Jalapeños & Jenny Wiley - 17
  3. In a bowl, mix together the cheeses, crumbled bacon, and chili powder.Jalapeños & Jenny Wiley - 18
  4. Fill each jalapeno half with the cream cheese mixture.Jalapeños & Jenny Wiley - 8
  5. Dip in bread crumbs to coat the cheese filling.
  6. Place on cook sheet and bake for 20 minutes.  The original recipe says 20 minutes for hot poppers, 30 minutes for medium, and 40 minutes for a more mild heat.
  7. Eat up!

Jalapeños & Jenny Wiley - 3

The original recipe says this is an appetizer for 6-10 people which I completely believe.  I made 5 jalapenos worth (so 10 poppers) for Will and I, and it hardly made a dent in the filling mixture.

Leave a Reply

