Munchie Monday: Apple Crisp

Continuing with my 30 Days of Thankfulness:  Today I am thankful for Apples and Oatmeal.

They are how I am showing my love to Hubster today and how I am making our house smell like sweet deliciousness instead of the spicy air leftover from the jalapenos we dehydrated over night.  They are two of my favorite foods and when you put them together they make one of my favorite fall desserts – Apple Crisp

Apples

Apples

Here is the OATMEAL topping, ready to go on the apples.

Here is the OATMEAL topping, ready to go on the apples.

Here are our dried jalapenos =)

Here are our dried jalapenos =)

Now I won’t give out my mother’s or my mother-in-law’s fantastic apple crisp recipes, but I will share mine with you.  As in all cooking, I generally see it as an art and not a science.  Maybe that is why it’s one of the main ways that I show love to people.  In keeping with that, this recipe is more of whim rather than a precise action.

Devra’s Gluten Free Apple Crisp

apple crisp

*NOTE: this is for a small amount of apple crisp, with way more topping than most recipes call for because that’s how we do things in the Pomeroy Life.

Ingredients:

Filling:

  • 2 Large apples (I prefer green, but all I had tonight were Fujis)
  • 2-3 tbsp Honey
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

Topping:

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup oatmeal
  • 3 tbsp Butter (or margarine)
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • a pinch of cloves

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350
  2. slice the apples as thing as you can (this is hard to do when you don’t have one of those snazzy triple-action, crank apple corer/peeler/slicer gizmos).
  3. Mix the apples with the honey and cinnamon and put them in a small baking dish (I think the one I am using is 4×6).
  4. In a bowl mix together the brown sugar, oats, oat flour, and spices.  cut in the butter and vanilla till you have a crumbly mixture.
  5. Sprinkle the topping all over the apples. Don’t be afraid to fill in some crevices and really pack all of that crispy goodness on there.  Remember, we are showing that oatmeal how thankful we are for it!
  6. bake for 55-60 minutes.
  7. Serve with ice cream, whipped cream, caramel sauce…. or all three – I won’t judge.

20131104_204124 20131104_204112

I think after you eat some of that amazing goodness you will be thankful oatmeal and apples too!

Leave a Reply

