Day 13: Baking – Gluten-Free Pumpkin Muffins with Maple Glaze

Today, I am thankful for the tasty muffin I had for breakfast.  It’s not bakery quality, but it’s quick, yummy, and gluten-free.  No room for complaints there!  Just thankfulness from my taste buds and tummy this morning. 

I am thankful for baking in general.  I love to bake, and now that it’s cold out I feel like I have an excuse to bake because having the oven on helps keep our drafty, old house warm!  Seriously, on nights like last night when it’s in the 20’s you’ll either find me as close to my walking space heater of a husband as I can be leaching heat from him, OR hovering over the stove baking something because it’s warm.

Last night I made some muffins going off of this recipe here.  Read my comments after the recipe.

Gluten-Free Pumpkin Muffins with Maple GlazePumpkin Muffins

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 cups oats (regular or quick is fine)
  • 1 cup yogurt (I had vanilla on hand, but it was very high in sugar and calories, so I think that I will try to find something healthier next time)
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 t (at least) cinnamon
  • ½ tsp nutmeg
  • ½ tsp cloves
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree (I used some homemade pumpkin puree)
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts (I wish I had chopped mine smaller so that the flavor would be more distributed)

Glaze:

  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1 ¼ cups powdered sugar
  • 2 tbsp maple syrup

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400.
  2. Grind up the oats in a coffee grinder.  A food processor would probably work too; I just don’t have one.
  3. Mix all the ingredients together.  I suggest adding your seasonings a little at a time and tasting the batter till you get the flavor that you want.  I like a lot of cinnamon and spices, but maybe you don’t.
  4. Grease a muffin tin.   Just greasing it should be enough.  I don’t think you need liners.
  5. Divide batter among 12 muffin cups.  This was about a ¼ cup in each muffin cup.
  6. Bake for 20 min, until toothpick comes out clean.
  7. Allow to cool completely before glazing, but while they cool make the glaze.
  8. Melt the butter in the microwave in a bowl (cereal bowl is big enough).  Add the powdered sugar and maple syrup.  Add water very cautiously if you want it runnier, or vanilla extract if you want more flavor.
  9. I found that it was easiest to just dip the top of the muffin into the glaze and give it a twist to coat them.
  10. Once they are glazed, Enjoy!
Fresh from the oven =)

Fresh from the oven =)

that maple glaze is delicious!  AND it didn't run everywhere!

that maple glaze is delicious! AND it didn’t run everywhere!

My thoughts:

The original recipe everything is done in a blender, meaning your oats aren’t ground all the way into flour.  So what I did, and I would suggest doing if you don’t trust your blender to make these, is to coarsely grind up oats in a coffee grinder and then mix all the ingredients by hand.

They are a little gummy/dense as is common for both low fat and gluten free baked goods.  Please, don’t get me wrong, they are really good; I just wanted to give you a heads up.  The original author warns that they fall after you take them out of the oven, and that is true.  They don’t flatten out, mine kept their domed muffin shape, but they do get shorter.

They are not super sweet by themselves, but I topped them with Maple Glaze, and that made them plenty sweet.  Also I highly suggest chopping up Walnuts and putting them in there; the flavor addition was amazing!

I think that this is a really good recipe to start with, and I plan to experiment with it in the future.  I want to try adding in mashed bananas (maybe instead of honey for sweetness?), or applesauce and apple chunks instead of pumpkin.  I think that they might be good with craisins, and I know that you couldn’t go wrong with adding in some mini-chocolate chips!

Overall I think I will give these a 7 out of 10 and keep them on the list of go to’s because they are good and they only took me 5-10 minutes.

2 responses to “Day 13: Baking – Gluten-Free Pumpkin Muffins with Maple Glaze

  1. These sound good. I need to try making them, sans walnuts of course!

    • They are good, but mainly i really liked how easy and quick they were. If you want a lot of flavor i suggest subbing something for the walnuts. like some chocolate chips!

Leave a Reply

