Tasty Tuesday: Healthier No Bake Cookies (GF & Vegan)

There are so many foods and kitchen things that I am thankful for.  I could do a whole month of kitchen related thankfulness. Tongs, the microwave, our awesome pots & pans, Will’s omelets & serious egg-flipping skills, my little mini-coffee pot, Orange-Spice Tea, chicken pot pies, cinnamon, the smell of food cooking… However, I would be remiss if I didn’t include chocolate in the list of 30 things that I am thankful for.

Day 18: I’m thankful for God’s gift of Chocolate.

I love Chocolate.  I can pass on plain milk chocolate, but the rest of the chocolate world – look out.  It’s not uncommon for me to get in a mood and whip up a batch of brownies, cookie or brownie in a mug, or to skip the work and just go straight to the bag of chocolate chips.  Don’t judge, I know you do it too.

Last week, a coworker of mine’s wife sent a huge plate of no bake cookies to work with him.  After I ate 2/3 of the plate myself I was still craving them, but I wanted a healthier option to munch on since I have no self-control.  I found these two recipes from Shugary Sweets & Sally’s Baking Addiction. They happened to workout perfectly because I had 1 banana that was going to have to be thrown out in a day or two if I didn’t use it. I took a little from both recipes and made something delicious!  Will really likes them too!

Also, I spent only 10 minutes whipping up these delicious, healthier-than-normal cookies.

they look normal.  Hubster didn't know there was anything different about them till the faint banana after taste!

they look normal. Hubster didn’t know there was anything different about them till the faint banana after taste!

Healthier No-Bake Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1 very ripe banana, mashed
  • 1/2 cup natural creamy peanut butter
  • 1/3 cup honey 
  • 1/4 cup (heaping) unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 tsp  coffee grounds
  • 3 cups old fashioned oats

Directions:

  1. Grease a cookie sheet, lay out wax paper or parchment paper, or get out your silpat (that’s what I used…. those things are magic!) You want to have this ready to drop the dough onto once you’re done mixing it.
  2. In a large bowl, mash your banana really well.
  3. Microwave the peanut butter till it’s melted and liquidy.
  4. Add melted peanut butter, honey, cocoa powder, milk, coffee grounds, and oats.  Mix thoroughly till all the oats are coated in the delicious peanut buttery, chocolate.
  5. Using to spoons, drop cookie mixture onto prepared surface and shape into flat circles (or whatever shape you prefer).
  6. Let chill in the fridge for an hour or two, and enjoy!
    fudgy and delicious  oh and super quick too!

    fudgy and delicious
    oh and super quick too!

    so we may have ate a couple before they were set up all the way....

    so we may have ate a couple before they were set up all the way….

Notes: 

  • next time I will use a smaller banana.  Our cookies are delicious, and I don’t mind the banana aftertaste, but it’s not what you expect when you eat a no bake cookie.
  • you might try this with normal creamy peanut butter as the natural kind doesn’t set up the same.  We are keeping our cookies in the fridge to keep them from getting too soft and messy.
  • I think  I will use quick oats next time for a better, less chunky/chewy texture. But that’s up to your personal liking. 
  • This makes 2 dozen give or take depending on the size you make them.
  • I did the math using my ingredients and making 20 cookies… there is between 100-110 calories per cookie.
2 responses to “Tasty Tuesday: Healthier No Bake Cookies (GF & Vegan)

  1. they look as good as the bad ones or the unhealthy ones.
    Dad

Leave a Reply

