Day 22: God’s Faithfulness and Foresight in Times of Transition

Today is Happy Hour Friday, and looking back at how I got to a place where every Friday my adoring husband brings me a special drink has prompted today’s item of thankfulness.

Day 22: I am so thankful for and humbled by God’s faithfulness and foresight in times of transition.

This morning I was looking back at the last nearly three years that Will and I have been together.  I was specifically looking at how faithful God has been in times of transition to position us perfectly with the foresight that only He possesses.

If you are staring at a precipice of life change or are in transition right now, I hope that this testimony of what God has done in our lives is encouraging to you.

Rewind to January 2011, Will and I weren’t dating yet.  Actually we had just started talking in December during finals week.  I was in the middle of my junior year of college.  Will had one class left and had moved home to finish up where he didn’t have to pay rent and classes were cheaper (always finding the best deal lol).  I had a job working fairly flexible hours in the admissions office for my school.  Will was in the market.  When we were barely even flirtatious blips on each other’s radars God was lining up the perfect job for Will.  He landed a job working for an environmental engineer near his mom’s.  It was enough work for him to make some money while finishing up school, and that kind engineer was beyond flexible with Will which allowed him to be able to make numerous weekend trips out to see me for that first year we were dating.   Even God couldn’t have opened a more perfect door for Will to walk through in that season.

This was us in Feb. 2011.  I think this was after our "second date"...  Will came for the weekend... never sure if the whole weekend is a date, or just the date part... regardless this was right after we decided to be official.

This was us in Feb. 2011. I think this was after our “second date”… Will came for the weekend… never sure if the whole weekend is a date, or just the date part… regardless this was right after we decided to be official.

Jump forward to December 2011…. 10 months into dating, and things are getting serious.  I am about to enter my final semester of school, and the subjects of marriage, engagement, and one of us moving to the other come up daily.  It was time for Will to find a new job, something concrete he could use as proof that he was ready to marry and support me.  That whole fall semester he looked and looked and applied so many places, but the only door that God opened was grad school in here in Lexington at UK. You might think “School?  That isn’t a job? How’s that fit (pay) the bill?”  Well, God didn’t just open the door for grad school, He provided a grant too so that Will goes to school for free and earns money for doing it.  Pretty crazy!  And all God!

This was taken the first week of January 2012. Will was set to start school in a week; we were engaged by Jan 21st.

This was taken the first week of January 2012. Will was set to start school in a week; we were engaged by Jan 21st.

Now in May 2012 I graduated college and the wedding was 2 months away.  We obviously found out the answer to which one of us was moving – me.  I had kept the same admissions job for the last years, and now it was time to find a new job. I was applying for about every administrative position there was in Lexington, and the backup plan was getting on at Starbucks through a friend.  I wasn’t alone in trying to find a job; Will was talking to all of his friends trying to find an in for me. Actually the job I have now he miraculously found online and sent to me as a joke. This job ain’t no joke though.  This is a door that God flung wide open.  I really have no idea how He did it, but He did.  It has been the perfect job, for a wonderful company, working with good people, and learning a lot.  When Will’s grandpa passed earlier this year, they had so much grace with me needing time off.  They are considerate of how far we have to travel for the holidays, and they blessed my socks off when we were getting married and I had only been working here for 6 weeks.

Now they are even letting me make Christmas goody baskets for our clients!  I even get to bake for my office job; Alright!  See what I mean; only God could have placed me somewhere so perfect.

 

Just before the wedding when we were moving all of our stuff into the place where I had been living.

Just before the wedding when we were moving all of our stuff into the place where I had been living.

Final Thoughts:

So if you are finding yourself in a time of  impending change or in the midst of transition, rest secure.  God has got your back.  He will land you in a place that only He could have had the foresight to pick out for you.  You might not understand it at first, and it might not be the door that you want (take Will and grad school).  God will open a door though, at just the right time and just the right place.  The only thing I can tell you to do in the mean time is serve Him while you are waiting so you are prepared to serve Him even more when you arrive in that next season.

Leave a Reply

