Day 24: Thankful for Mr. Right vs. Mr. Perfect

Today is the day that you have all been waiting for – the day when I write the cheesy post about how thankful I am for my husband.  I promise to do my best to keep you all from gagging.  When Will and I were first dating, we did many vomit-inducing things.  Take for example the letter I wrote him on his 24th birthday that itemized 24 reasons why I loved him…. Yeah… that happened.  But don’t worry, I don’t plan on listing out 24 cheesy reasons why I am thankful for him.

mr right

Before I unpack why I am thankful for this man that God brought into my life, I want to make sure that one thing is crystal clear.  I am thankful for William Pomeroy.  The man he actually is, and not the ideal husband who exists as a figment of every woman’s imagination.  God brought me Will – Mr. Right, not Mr. Perfect.  

Will truly is Mr. Right.  Take this weekend for example, Will went shopping with me (two-days in a row).  Was he 100% engaged while I was combing the racks like Mr. Perfect would be – no.  Am I thankful for him anyway?  Yes.  Even more thankful than I would be if he was 100% engaged at every moment; why?  Because when I needed him most, he was there to make it all better in the way that only Will knows how.  When I was feeling sick he was there to put his arm around me and take me to Starbucks.  When I was freezing he let me squeeze as close to him as possible during Catching Fire to stay warm.  When I was dissatisfied with myself and with clothes, he was there to offer his unique perspective that saved the day.

Sure, he might spend a lot of time on the computer, BUT he is organizing our finances and investments.  He is paying bills and crunching numbers. He carries the weight of our world on his shoulders like a champ; the least I can do is rub them every once and a while to show my gratitude.

He had to be trained to use the same cup all day long, and he rarely gets his lunch container out of his book bag – BUT he does help me wash the dishes and clean the house.

His entire wardrobe is t-shirts, jeans, hoodies, and a baseball hat (toboggan in the winter); seriously, you will catch him in something different no more than once a month.  But I love that about him.  I love the simplicity that he lives life with, and I love that is rubbing off on me.

We are opposites, complimentary opposites.

We are opposites, complimentary opposites.

He might not be Mr. Perfect, but he is Mr. Right.  We are opposites on almost everything, but I am thankful for that.  He balances and checks me.  He calls me on my crap, my stubbornness, my greed and selfishness, my insecurities.  He brings the pragmatic level-headness that my idealistic zeal needs.

I am thankful for Will.  He goes beyond keeping me warm; he even lets me put my icy hands and popsicle feet on him.

He is an amazing cook.  He will gladly cook all things involving splattering grease, and he willingly comes and gets heavy things out of the hot oven for me.  He makes me some darn tasty breakfasts Monday- Friday every week!  He even has insanely impressive egg and pancake flipping skills.

He knows how to make me smile and laugh, no matter how hard I am trying to pout and be mad.

see.. I can't not smile and laugh

see.. I can’t not smile and laugh

So here’s to you William Pomeroy! One of the most stubborn men I know.  The man with the biggest heart, best example of generosity, compassion, wisdom, and poise I know.  I am thankful for the capacity to dream that God has given you, and I am thankful for the opportunity to help you chase them.

"limitless possibilities"

“limitless possibilities”

My husband will admit to you that he isn’t Mr. Perfect, but I am here to tell you that he IS Mr. Right. And I am beyond thankful for Him, and I promise to be thankful for him every day for the rest of my life because so far what I am learning is that Mr.  Right is Mr. Perfect.

To anyone reading this, the best thing that I ever learned in my love life is that what you dreamed up as perfect, probably isn’t what you will get (although I did get a lot of it).  BUT the real person who God brings you is right, and God’s Mr. or Mrs. Right is more perfect than anything you could have day dreamed.  They will push your buttons and help push you to be better than you thought you could be.

3 responses to “Day 24: Thankful for Mr. Right vs. Mr. Perfect

  1. I love this! Beautiful love story. God’s pretty awesome like that, he knows what we need so much better than we think we do.

  2. You are just the sweetest!

  3. Pingback: Happy Hour Friday – Will’s Birthday | The Pomeroy Life

Leave a Reply

