A Bunch of Turkeys – Thanksgiving Traditions and Thoughts on Black Friday

Now that Will and I have recovered from the feasting and other festivities I can share about them.  It’s crazy that it takes a week to recover; Will’s old age must be rubbing off on me. BUT thanks to Thanksgiving his facial hair is no longer rubbing me!

That is our Thanksgiving Day tradition.  After a breakfast of chocolate chip pancakes and bacon, we trim Will’s facial hair.  This was my 3rd Pomeroy Thanksgiving, and each year it has played out that way.  The tradition is that he shaves it little by little, with a picture taken after each reduction.  So please follow along with the progression of our morning:

Pancake Breakfast cooking!  His says "I rule the Roost" and mine says "I rule the Rooster"  too great not to get a picture in them, much to hubster's chagrin.  But at least he still had the pride of his beard.

Pancake Breakfast cooking! His says “I rule the Roost” and mine says “I rule the Rooster” too great not to get a picture in them, much to hubster’s chagrin. But at least he still had the pride of his beard.

beard in tact

beard in tact

the over-sized goatee

the over-sized goatee

the fu manchu.... Carrieli and I pleaded with him to keep it...

the fu manchu…. Carrieli and I pleaded with him to keep it…

I think this was his favorite style....

I think this was his favorite style….

And Why does he shave it on thanksgiving?  Because we take family pictures.  =) And here they are:13 - 3 (2) 13 - 1 (4) 2013-11-28 16.56.03

 

Carrieli comes to Lexington to spend the rest of Thanksgiving weekend with us.  That’s even better than all the food of Thanksgiving I think.  It’s great to have some one else around to help me pick on Will!   But this year she helped me make Christmas Goody Baskets for some of my work’s clients…. so if you are needing Christmas goodies, but are too busy to make your own, give me a shout!

She also helped us get our Christmas tree and decorate it!

Our Tree =)

Our Tree =)

she's the strongest girl I know!

she’s the strongest girl I know!

and he is the proudest brother I know.

and he is the proudest brother I know.

So we put Carrieli to work…. BUT We also had some entertainment too.  For kicks and giggles we took her to “Hugh Jass Burgers” for lunch.  If you don’t understand why that’s funny, say it out loud.

20131130_124346

they live up to the name....

they live up to the name….

And she was Izzy’s entertainment for the weekend Lol!

20131130_171624

 

Lastly, I feel bad for Thanksgiving.  All of our holidays are incredibly over commercialized.  Seriously, name a holiday that the stores don’t put everything on sale for.  The only one I can think of is Columbus Day.  But poor Thanksgiving, if it wasn’t for the excuse to feast on amazing food and then fall asleep watching football then I think we would have nearly forgotten about it. Sandwiched between Halloween and Christmas, the store aisles skip from Halloween decorations to Christmas ones.

But the proverbial sheep gets even blacker…. due to Black Friday, Thanksgiving has become completely debased in our society.  Thanksgiving is the one holiday whose sole purpose is to cause people to take the day completely off, gather around with loved ones, pause, reflect, and be thankful for the blessings that WE ALREADY HAVE.  But instead it has become the biggest spending day.  The day that we plot our plans of attack for how we are going to snag the best deals on all of the things that we don’t have and want.  It’s become a day where the gorging isn’t just for our stomachs.  We have an insatiable appetite for things… and after all, Christmas is just around the corner, right?

Black Friday Shopping!

Black Friday Shopping!

Confession…. I have gone Black Friday shopping many times, including this year.  So, yes, I am a part of the problem.  Yes, it does bother me a little.  No, I haven’t figured out the answer yet.  I will be sure to let you know how I decide to reconcile my desire to get the deals with the fact that I am contributing to society’s undermining the core of Thanksgiving by doing so.

 

Leave a Reply

