What is the Holiday Spirit?

Merry Christmas everyone!

I have been delaying writing this post because I didn’t feel like I had a good enough handle on the fact that it is Christmas time, but then last night I had the epiphany that we leave for Kansas a week from Saturday.  There are a lot of things that need to happen in the next 9 days.

on the left is last year's tree, and this year's tree is on the right.  =)

on the left is last year’s tree, and this year’s tree is on the right. =)

I am tempted to say that Christmas time is my favorite time of the year, but really I think that Fall is- when the leaves are changing and the whole world seems to be trimmed in gold filigree. Christmas is solidly in second place though.  For clarification when I say Christmas I mean Christmas time, not just Christmas day.

I enjoy the season of Christmas because it is an entire month of celebrating with people, of trying to bless people and be full of joy.  Our smiles twinkle like the lights on the trees, our cheeks are red and cheery, and our time, money, and thoughts are geared towards making other people happy.

The stockings I made out of Goodwill sweaters last Christmas =)

The stockings I made out of Goodwill sweaters last Christmas =)

When Will took me out for our mystery date on Sunday, this was one of the topics that we discussed. What are our Christmas traditions/what do we want them to be?  If we had to put the meaning of Christmas into words what would it be?

First of all, since this is only our second Christmas as a family it’s hard to really nail down what our traditions are.  What they will be depends a lot on what our future children’s personalities are I think, and where we live and so on.  BUT, what we have nailed down is that we all have homemade stockings (that was decided last year), we decorate together, we watch elf, we send out Christmas cards, I give Will a ridiculous pair of boxers, we go pick out a live tree, and we open one present on Christmas Eve.  We want some sort of food related tradition as well, but we aren’t sure what that will be yet.  Last year we made candied nuts and bourbon balls, so maybe one of those?

Picking the tree out this year.  the picture in the bottom left is the one they took at Barker's Tree Farm last year.   They had it ready for us to pick up this year when we went to get our new tree.

Picking the tree out this year. the picture in the bottom left is the one they took at Barker’s Tree Farm last year. They had it ready for us to pick up this year when we went to get our new tree.

As for the meaning of it all…. Neither of us gave the Sunday School answer.  There is more to Christmas for us than just celebrating Jesus’ birth.  Christmas, as I said earlier, is about spreading joy and blessing people.  The reason we started that tradition, yes it has to do with God giving us Jesus.  The reason we love other people has everything to do with Jesus loving us.  But the meaning of Christmas as Will and I see it – it’s a time to be infectious.  It is a time to bless others.  It is a time to be joyful.   That is what God has brought into our lives, and we intend to shower joy and blessings on other people as well.

Here are the goody baskets that one of my bosses commissioned me to make this year for some of our clients.  They are mining clients so I made peanut clusters, which look like coal, ad put them in bags that said coal.

Here are the goody baskets that one of my bosses commissioned me to make this year for some of our clients. They are mining clients so I made peanut clusters, which look like coal, ad put them in bags that said coal.

So whenever Will and I’s family grows, and we mesh together our Christmas traditions and form some new ones at the heart of all of it will be cherishing the people who God has put in our paths.  There will be a Nativity set for the little kiddos to help set up and visualizes Jesus coming to earth for them, but the real thing about Christmas that I hope they catch is to be joyful and bless others.  I hope to foster that spirit in our household year round and not just when the tree is trimmed and the stockings are hung.   A house that is full of joy and love for others; that is a house where Jesus is Emmanuel, God with us.

Happy Holidays

our Christmas mantel =)

our Christmas mantel =)

Leave a Reply

