Peanut Butter Jelly Energy Bites

Today’s post is the product of last night’s experiment. Last night I was stuck inside with a head cold on a frigid evening.  Now normally when I find myself in these predicaments I turn the oven on, find a tasty looking recipe, and start baking, but since we are trying to recover from all the holiday goodies I decided to try to make a more healthy treat last night.

I had one of these oatmeal energy bites before and have seen recipes for them floating around, but I have never made them myself before.  Last night, I wanted something to test out our new Ninja Blender on and put the hanging function of Minion’s case to good use with.  So I went to work on creating these healthy, gluten free treats.

See, Minion can hang safely out of harms way!

See, Minion can hang safely out of harms way!

Because of their ingredients and flavors I decided to call them Peanut Butter Jelly Energy Bites. I am not sure if that was a good idea or not because every time I think of them or eat them that rap song from my high school days comes flooding back into my ears.  Except this time it’s re written “Peanut Butter Jelly Bites! Peanut Butter Jelly Bites!” instead of “Peanut Butter Jelly Time.”

Anyway….

Here they are!

Here they are!

Will came home and tried them out.  He gave them “Hubster Approval.”  I think he really liked them; he was very excited when he mentioned having stolen one. lol.  In general, if a food/dish is approved Will then it will probably be approved by the vast majority of people.  So I think it is safe to recommend this energy packed snack to you and yours.

Hubster Approved Recipe!

Hubster Approved Recipe!

 Peanut Butter Jelly Bites

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup oats ground (or oat flour)
  • 1 1/2 cups oats
  • 1/3 cup honey (I actually did 1/2 honey and 1/2 maple syrup)
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter (I used natural creamy peanut butter)
  • 1/4 cup applesauce
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 cup craisins

Directions:

  1. Blend the first 1/2 cup oats into a fine powder (unless you are using oat flour).
  2. Place all ingredients except for the crasins into a blender and blend into a smooth, thoroughly mixed dough.
  3. Once mixed, blend in the craisins.
  4. Roll into 1″ balls and place on a lined cookie sheet.  Place the cookie sheet in the fridge to harden the bites.
  5. Once hardened put the bites into a covered container and store in the fridge.
the recipe made about 2 dozen bites.

the recipe made about 2 dozen bites.

2 responses to “Peanut Butter Jelly Energy Bites

  1. Pingback: Happy Hour Friday | The Pomeroy Life

  2. Pingback: Packable Healthy Lunch Tip & Weekly Menu | The Pomeroy Life

Leave a Reply

