Happy Hour Friday

Today is definitely a happy hour kind of Friday. 

Since our blog has been getting a lot more views lately, let me explain to you what Happy Hour Friday is.  Since I moved to Kentucky in 2012 Will has been so faithful about welcoming me home at the end of my work week with a special treat of some sort.  Usually it’s a half-price drink from Sonic; sometimes it’s from the gas station, an Ale 8, a latte, a smoothie… whatever he thinks fits the bill that week.   So to help me savor my end of the week treat even more I like to blog about something wonderful that went on in the week.  Thus, Happy Hour Friday.

a little treat last Sunday, or first Ice Cream of 2014. Courtesy of my Uncle who always signs his emails "Love and Ice Cream"

a little treat last Sunday, or first Ice Cream of 2014. Courtesy of my Uncle who always signs his emails “Love and Ice Cream”

This Friday I have many things to be thankful for.  First of all, God brought a great many blessings into our life over the last week, not the least of which being that when the “Polar Vortex” descended on Lexington our pipes only froze – they did not burst!

That't not even the coldest that it was.... it was in the negatives for a long time.

That’t not even the coldest that it was…. it was in the negatives for a long time.

We had the privilege of helping officially start two of our good friends’ lives together last weekend.  Will was the Best Man so we spent the weekend in Louisville rehearsing, getting spiffed up, and dancing the night away.  Will even danced! That’s just how happy he was to be a part of that wedding.  Sean and Katelyn are a perfect fit for one another, and I know that they are going to have a true happily ever after.  God’s love can definitely be seen in their relationship, and as Will and I are learning that makes all the difference in marriage.

So happy for the two of them!  I wish I could fix all the red eye better so that this picture could really show just how happy for them we are.

So happy for the two of them! I wish I could fix all the red eye better so that this picture could really show just how happy for them we are.

I had a nasty cold this week , but thanks to the modern miracle that is Nyquil my snot is no longer neon colored, I can breath, and I don’t feel like I have been hit by a train.  In fact, I was able to run 3 and a half miles yesterday!  Which was much better than I expected.  AND thanks to all the coughing, my abs show no sign of my holiday food indulgence.

I came up with a new snack for Will and I this week, and he loved it =).  FTW! If you haven’t seen the recipe for these delicious little guys, check it out here.PhotoGrid_1389388364408

But I think the biggest reason that I am so happy this Friday is that I finally feel settled in again.  It took until last night.  Last night I chance to catch up around the house, go for a run, and do some things I wanted to do.  AND even better I felt good enough to do all of that! I used to try to tell myself that I was a spontaneous person, that routine was overrated and I didn’t abide by or value it…. That was a complete lie.  I mean I can be spontaneous, but when it comes to my work week, routine is important.  Routine keeps things calm and smooth.  Routine keeps things from getting scrambled and lost in the shuffle.  Routine means that my kitchen floor gets swept, and I don’t forget to shower.   I have my routine back now , and I am very grateful.

Looking back at your week, what are some things you can be thankful for, things that can make your Friday that much more joyful?

Leave a Reply

