Let It Snow, Let It Snow… I Have Soup to Keep Me Warm

The weather outside today.

The weather outside today.

This is definitely my new favorite soup, and today is the PERFECT day to come home from work to snuggle up with some hot tea and a steaming bowl of soup.

The Chinese Tea Will brought me from Chinatown in DC.  Went perfectly with my soup tonight.  In the mug that I won in my race in October.

The Chinese Tea Will brought me from Chinatown in DC. Went perfectly with my soup tonight. In the mug that I won in my race in October.

Can't wait to get home to this!

Can’t wait to get home to this!

It’s been snowing all day, and as the snow rises the temperature falls.  Conditions like these require certain survival tactics in our drafty, quirky, honeymooner-sized home we must:

  • leave the water running so the pipes don’t freeze,
  • wear a sweatshirt and a blanket,
  • run the heater and the space heater,
  • and eat hot food.

And if you are me, you also either workout to generate body heat, or go the easy route and binge watch a TV show as an excuse to cuddle with Will and Izzy Pup in order to absorb their body heat.  So in other words I am heat-sucking leach… But the relationship is symbiotic; after all, I do feed them and clean up after them.

But tonight I am particularly excited for dinner time.  We had some leftover rice noodles from making Pad Thai the other day and a fridge full of vegetables.  So I decided that soup was in order.  The soup that I made was based off this recipe from the Everyday Vegetarian.  I wish that I could take complete credit for its deliciousness, but I can’t.  I had never made anything with those rice noodles before so I was trying to look for ideas/instructions.  I stumbled upon this recipe and I had to try it.

Not only do I think this soup is the bomb, but it was also stamped “Hubster Approved” after the first bite! Will calls it “suped up soup” because of all the good for you ingredients.

I have to say... the man knows his way around the computer... Nerds are so attractive!  Part of why I try to feed him well, gotta take care of my attractive man

I have to say… the man knows his way around the computer… Nerds are so attractive! Part of why I try to feed him well, gotta take care of my attractive man

I strongly suggest you try it too!  It is such a quick and easy soup.  And the leftovers are phenomenal.  I made mine a head of time on Sunday (I do all the cooking for Monday and Tuesday on Sunday).  So if you are going to make yours ahead of time or make enough to have leftovers, then I encourage you to keep your rice noodles and spinach separate.  Put them in when you are heating the soup to serve it.  That way the noodles do not disintegrate and the spinach is fresher.

20140120_181644

Rice Noodle Soup

Ingredients:

  • 5 ounces WideRice Noodles (1/3 of 16 oz package)
  • 2-3 cups of Spinach (depends on how much spinach you like)
  • 4 small-medium sized Carrots, sliced in half circles
  • 6 ounces Mushrooms, sliced
  • 2 small Onions, chopped (I sliced mine into half circles, then halved them again.  I did not dice them all the way)
  • 1 cup Black-Eyed Peas (pre-soaked)
  • 2-4 cloves Garlic, minced (this depends on the size of your cloves.  Mine were monsters so I only used 2)
  • 6 cups Vegetable or Chicken Broth
  • ½ tsp Cumin (or to your taste)
  • ½ tsp Black Pepper (or to your taste)
  • Olive Oil

Directions:

  1. Prepare the noodles according to the instructions on the package.
  2. Heat a tablespoon of olive oil in a pan; add the onion and garlic and sauté till the onion is almost translucent.  I used a deep skillet for this so that I could just add the broth to it and simmer the soup in the skillet.   If you are planning on eating it all right away I would recommend picking something big enough to add the broth and noodles to.  The fewer dishes you have to clean, the better.
  3. Once the onions are translucent, add the mushrooms and carrots and sauté for another couple of minutes, till the mushrooms have darkened and the carrots are bright and starting to soften.
  4. Add the black-eyed peas, pepper, and cumin to the vegetables, and then add the broth.  Simmer for 15 minutes.
  5. To serve add the noodles to the soup and let them simmer for a few minutes to get warm.
  6. Lastly, cut the stems off of the spinach and mix into the soup.  The spinach will wilt down within a minute.
  7. Ladle it into your favorite soup bowl, and slurp it up!  It’s so good!20140121_192359
One response to “Let It Snow, Let It Snow… I Have Soup to Keep Me Warm

  1. Pingback: Going Vegan-ish | The Pomeroy Life

Leave a Reply

