Happy Hour Friday – Happy Chinese New Year!

So many reasons for this to be a Happy Hour Friday! It’s been a wonderful week.  Started it by getting to see Carrieli’s gymnastics meet.  So many prayers have been answered.  Like, my sister-in-law Blair had her first day of her dream job and found a place for them to move.  Serve the City was a really encouraging night; left it refreshed and reminded why we press through these bitter winter months and keep serving.  Work has been great, and life in general has been much warmer than the outside temperature suggests. But to give this Happy Hour some more direction….

Happy Chinese New Year!

This is a special day to Will and I.  Not only do we love China, Chinese people, and Chinese food, but since we met in China, Will chose Chinese New Year as the day he would propose on.  He had several opportunities to propose over Christmas and normal New Year, when everyone else and their mom was proposing, but he chose to wait and pick a day that was just for us.  He did such a good job.

He surprised me with him being in town and a homemade Chinese dinner, that Brian taught him.

He surprised me with him being in town and a homemade Chinese dinner, that Brian taught him.

Before I get too nostalgic and sappy….

This year is the year of the horse, which happens to be my zodiac year.  I always look at the menu at Chinese places to find it out, and I NEVER remember.  I confess I looked it up 5 minutes ago.  According to The Guardian:

People born in the year of the horse are said to be a bit like horses: animated, active and energetic – they love being in a crowd. They are quick to learn independence – foals can walk minutes after birth – and they have a straightforward and positive attitude towards life. They are known for their communication skills and are exceedingly witty.

I would not classify myself as extremely witty, but Will makes up for my lack in that department. As for the rest of it, that describes me pretty well.  Especially in my younger years, before Will and his immoveable, even-keeledness infiltrated my lifestyle.

All that to say, I don’t put a whole lot of stock in these… especially since it tells me to avoid rabbits.  Guess what Will is?  Yep.  A rabbit.  Just some trivia for you!

We try to do a little something for Chinese New Year.  This year we had Brian over for dinner. We ate some Asian food, and listened to his stories.  He brought us a tasty Egg Plant dish from Cheng’s.  It was really good, so I think that will be the next Lexington Chinese restaurant that Will and I try out.

Horses

Brian is pretty excited about this year.  Since he lives in Lexington, Horse Capital of the World, he can get all sorts of awesome horse post cards and paraphernalia to send out to his people.

We also made Thai Curry.  This was definitely our best rendition of it!  I put the recipe on the blog about a year ago, so check it out and make it for yourself here.

Brian eating his curry.

Brian eating his curry.

The Curry!

The Curry!

the eggplant dish

the eggplant dish

And I made some really good bread!  This is my second successful attempt at bread this week!  I think I am about to be on a bread kick so expect to see some bread recipes coming up on the blog in the coming weeks!

the bread!

the bread!

Leave a Reply

