Going Vegan-ish

Menus for the Challenge

Last year I made Will and I’s dinner menu a month at a time. That was a great way to do things. It enabled us to be very frugal with our grocery shopping and drastically cut down on how much food we wasted. It was also nice because I only had to put in the effort once a month. If that set up interests you I have several menus posted here.

Now so far this year we have been eating nearly vegan, which is a challenge. We did something similar at the beginning of last year, and it was tough to find recipes that looked good/stood a chance at getting past Will’s picky palate. This year we’ve been more adventurous and embraced the challenge of eliminating meat, eggs, dairy, caffeine, and processed sugars.

There have been a few victories! I got Will to eat beans! He actually will eat black-eyed peas! Another victory was our vegan, gluten-free pizza we made on our date night last night.

20140205_182406

That is dairy free Mozzarella cheese on there. It wasn’t bad!

With the challenge of this lifestyle change comes a lot of uncertainty in the outcome of recipes.

Because of that we’ve been taking menu planning one week at a time. Which is what I want to do with the blog as well. I’m going to start posting weekly menu plans. I am also going to delay them a week so that I can include pictures, comments, and recipes.  

Here’s a week’s menu that you can use for next week.  AND you can easily add some shredded chicken, etc. to those meals to make them non-vegan.

2-6-14 Menu

For a printable Version click here.

Here are links to the recipes that we went off of:

I hope that you’ll join in with us from time to time. Have a Meatless Monday, try something you don’t know if you’ll like. It’s challenging and sometimes I just really want a cookie…. But the benefits outweigh the costs.

One of the most important lessons I have learned in life is that discipline is contagious. When you exercise discipline in one area of life it will spread

Perhaps the biggest positive result is the ripple effect that being intentional about what you eat has on the rest of life. One of the most important lessons I have learned in life is that discipline is contagious. When you exercise discipline in one area of life it will spread. Thinking about what I eat, being disciplined to stick to the plan, helps me disciplined in exercising, disciplined in my work, and most importantly disciplined in my pursuit of God.

I don’t know what your current diet looks like, what goals you have, or what parts of your life need some intentionality and discipline. Maybe you have some New Years resolutions that failed already. Whatever the case is, I challenge you to join us. Try out a new recipe every week. Try something on the menu and let us know how you liked it. Or try a new recipe you’ve been wanting to try for a while and tell us about it so we can try it.

3 responses to “Going Vegan-ish

  1. Pingback: Packable Healthy Lunch Tip & Weekly Menu | The Pomeroy Life

  2. Pingback: Crockpot Carnitas | The Pomeroy Life

  3. Pingback: Crockpot Carnitas

Leave a Reply

