Happy Hour Friday: Better Than Valentine’s Day

Today I have to give praise to God.  He blessed me with an ability to day dream the rivals the Brother’s Grimm, but even I couldn’t have day dream the love story that He is writing for Will and I.  A love story that started 3 years ago today.  February 7th, or 2-0-7 as we like to refer to it, is Our “Valentine’s Day.”

on the right is my happy hour surprise.  The top is us this morning, and the bottom is us 3 years ago today =)

on the right is my happy hour surprise. The top is us this morning, and the bottom is us 3 years ago today =)

Better Together since 2/07.

Ironically… this is my 207th post.  I love it when God works out the little things in life like that!

If you are some one who we had the pleasure of sharing our wedding day with then you know that Will chose to surprise me for our first dance by picking the song Better Together by Jack Johnson.  That song is our song, because since day one our slogan has been “better together,” because we are opposites.  We snap together like a puzzle and make something better together than we ever did apart.

Celebrating today means more to me than Valentine’s Day.  Will leaving me flowers, happy hour, and a card to say that he’s glad he’s had me in his life for three years means more to me than a box of chocolates on the day when every woman on the planet is receiving a box of chocolates.

I got up at 5 this morning and made these Gluten-free, vegan Apple Cider Cake Doughnuts to wake Hubster up with =)

I got up at 5 this morning and made these Gluten-free, vegan Apple Cider Cake Doughnuts to wake Hubster up with =)

we ate them and went through our photobooks.  one for every year =)

we ate them and went through our photobooks. one for every year =)

I can’t speak for Will, who is away at a conference about living generously, but I can speak for myself.  What I have to say is this: I get my socks knocked off every day by the faithful love of a man who has so much grace and patience with me.  A man who flew half way across the country just to take me out on our first date!  A man who put up with interrogations, multiple threats, long distance, me learning to not be a flirt, me going to China for three months, getting hit by my grandpa’s cane, oh and a card with a dozen rifles on the front… no big deal. The things that he didn’t go through to have me in his life.

When I stop and think about all the little ways that Will showers me with affection – it takes my breath away.  How can I not be head-over-heels for someone who lets me warm my cold feet on him, takes the dog out in the cold and rain so I don’t have to, makes me breakfast in the morning while I am getting ready for work, brings me a surprise on Fridays, does the dishes and takes out the trash without being asked, puts up with all my ridiculous exercises, mannerisms, and just me in general.  He doesn’t snap when I get frustrated or when I break something.  He doesn’t get mad when I shrink or dye his clothes.  Instead he tells me I am smart, beautiful, kind, important, and that I make his life better.

To us one of the main goals of marriage is to portray as accurate a picture as we can of Christ and the church.  Let me tell you something; I see a vivid picture of the pursuing, steadfast love the Jesus has for us in the face of my husband everyday.  That is something I hope and pray that every couple can have.

 

2014-02-07 09.53.33

It takes compromise, humility, and biting your tongue, but what you give in a Christ-centered marriage you also receive.  And because you receive it; it’s that much easier to give it.

I hope you can find a day that can be your own valentine’s day.  A day when you can celebrate your relationship for what it truly is.  A day to savor all your memories.  A day to refocus.

There will be more on this to come since Will is out of town tonight and tomorrow our real celebration is going down on Sunday.  Stay tuned.

Do you and your loved ones have any days, slogans, or traditions that you hold dear?

Izzy wanted some too....

Izzy wanted some too….

My new favorite picture of us!  Drinking the Wassail my mom sent Will right after he gave me my "Valentines Day" present (be excited to find out what that is)

My new favorite picture of us! Drinking the Wassail my mom sent Will right after he gave me my “Valentines Day” present (be excited to find out what that is)

4 responses to “Happy Hour Friday: Better Than Valentine’s Day

  1. Pingback: Happy Hour Friday: Better than Valentine’s Day Part 2 | The Pomeroy Life

  2. Pingback: Good For You Apple Cider Doughnuts | The Pomeroy Life

  3. Pingback: Happy Hour Friday – Will’s Birthday | The Pomeroy Life

  4. Pingback: Good For You Apple Cider Doughnuts

Leave a Reply

