Good For You Apple Cider Doughnuts

Sorry It has been so long since I posted anything on the blog. Since the last time that I posted anything Will and I have loosened our dietary constraints.  Such a relief!  Meal planning is much easier, and cooking requires less creative energy when you can use meat and dairy.

So we may have splurged at City BBQ when we decided to easy up... No worries, I promise there were lots of leftovers.  We ate lunch and dinner the next day.

So we may have splurged at City BBQ when we decided to easy up… No worries, I promise there were lots of leftovers. We ate lunch and dinner the next day.

We are still eating healthy – small portions of meat, very little dairy, and Will is doing great at staying away from soda and refined sugars…. me on the other hand – I have to make the verbal commitment that I will not allow my sweet tooth to control me.  It really likes to control me.  Anyone else out there have problems with their sweet tooth?

When we were in Nashville a couple weekends ago (which I need to write a post about), I spent a lot of time hanging out in a candy store with the little sister and our niece… the sights, the smells, the samples…. fresh fudge, caramel corn, and pralines.  It was heaven.

Back to the point.  When Will and I were being really strict I issued myself the challenge of coming up with an awesome breakfast to wake Hubster up with on Our Valentine’s Day.  After all, 3 years of being together warrants delicious food. Will loves doughnuts. When we were dating they were his go to comfort food to help him through the drive home after he would drop me off at the airport. So what better thing to wake him up with than doughnuts?

What Will Woke up to.

What Will Woke up to.

After quite a bit of searching I found a recipe that I thought would be delicious, easy to make gluten-free, and taste good without frosting/glaze.  My hunch was right.  BUT I still want to make these again and have the glaze on them now that we are less strict.

I promise to be better about posting again.  Posting Recipes, Menus, Workouts, and Life Updates.  But in the mean time go enjoy the warm taste of fall on this cold, snowy, almost spring day.

Apple Cider Doughnuts

original version found here.2014-02-07 10.09.14

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup all sorghum flour
  • 1/2 cup all oat flour
  • 1 tsp xanthum gum
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/8 tsp allspice
  • 1/3 cup maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup apple cider
  • 1/4 cup apple sauce
  • 1 tbsp canola oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Instructions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Generously grease a donut pan and set aside.
  2. In a small bowl combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, spices, and salt. In a separate bowl whisk together maple syrup, apple cider, apple sauce, canola oil, and vanilla extract. Add wet ingredients to dry and mix until just combined.
  3. Spoon or pipe batter into the prepared doughnut pan, filling each mold about 3/4 full.
  4. Bake for 8-10 minutes, until doughnuts springs back when gently pressed. Remove from oven and let cool in pan for a few minutes before transferring doughnuts onto a cooling rack to cool completely.
  5. Drizzle with honey and sprinkle with cinnamon and chopped pecans.  OR find a glaze recipe here.
They were flavorful and hearty.  AND they didn't put you in a sugar coma 10 minutes later.

They were flavorful and hearty. AND they didn’t put you in a sugar coma 10 minutes later.

2 responses to “Good For You Apple Cider Doughnuts

  1. Mmm these look TASTY! And what do you know, I have some sorghum flour sitting in my pantry 🙂 No apple cider, but I’ll let you know if I try them!

    • Sorghum is one of my favorite GF flours. Unfortunately I don’t think I have any more sitting in my pantry. Nor do I have apple cider, but I have some Wassel mix waiting for me to get more cider to use it up with.
      I saw where you are going to start working part time at your church. That is awesome! I am sure that you will love it! I will be watching your blog for updates =)

Leave a Reply

