Weekly Menu – the Week of the Salad

You might recall from my post Saturday (the one about not being able to do the marathon next month…) that I included a picture of my produce haul from grocery shopping the other day.  This past week we were supposed to be eating pot roast and cleverly using the leftovers of the pot roast throughout the week; HOWEVER I was overwhelmed by the fresh, colorful, mouthwatering produce at Meijer last week.  I may have gone a little overboard purchasing veggies…. putting pot roast on the back burner and salads on the table.

the produce binge....

the produce binge….

We really will be having Pot Roast… I have to cook it since I thawed it out.  The plan is to start eating on it Saturday.  I can cook it along with all my other weekly food prep, chores, and errands on Saturday.  When that happens Will will probably be extremely happy. I am sure the carnivore in him is suffering withdraw pains with all the leafy greens I have been feeding him.

About Our Salads

For salad greens we had green leaf lettuce, spinach, and iceberg to fill in the gaps. I did some research on the nutrition of salad greens last week. The leafier the green, the more sunlight it is exposed to, the more nutrients it has. Making iceberg amount to little more than fiber and water.  Green leaf lettuce is significantly higher in nutrients, and spinach is near the top of the chart.  Random facts for you.

Another wonderful thing about salads, is that they don’t dirty many dishes and can be made quickly for busy people like ourselves.  Seriously, 15-20 minutes from fridge to plate; that includes cooking the chicken.   Here’s how to cook really juicy, flavorful chicken for your salads:

  1. Thaw out a boneless, skinless chicken breast.
  2. Pound it a little to achieve a more uniform thickness.
  3. Sprinkle poultry seasoning on both sides.
  4. In a skillet over high heat sear both sides, 1-2 minutes per side.
  5. Lower the heat and cook for 3-5 more minutes per side.
  6. While the chicken is cooking chop all your other ingredients and begin assembling your salads.
  7. When the chicken is cooked allow it to rest for a minute and then dice it.
  8. Sprinkle a tablespoon of soy sauce and a tablespoon of Frank’s hot sauce over the diced chicken.  Mix it up and top your already prepped salads with the juicy chicken.

    Our salads had onion, cucumber, bell pepper, cheese, and chicken.

    Our salads had onion, cucumber, bell pepper, cheese, and chicken.

For my lunches I also had salads.  For these I cooked some quinoa and mixed it in with the lettuce.  Since strawberries were a dollar a pack last weekend I bought 5 packs.  I froze most of those, but I saved a few to chop up and put on my lunch salads along with chopped pecans and chopped apple. It was so good!  It didn’t need dressing, but with some Cranberry Balsamic Vinaigrette it was salad heaven.

Strawberry-Apple-Pecan Quinoa Salad

Strawberry-Apple-Pecan Quinoa Salad

If you want to splurge on some fresh produce as well, and feel super great because that’s what eating fresh fruits and veggies does, then here’s a menu that you can follow.  This is what Will and I have been eating for the last week.

Capture

Click here for the printable version and grocery list

I hope that this helped!  Salad doesn’t have to be boring, and it doesn’t have to be hard.  =)

Leave a Reply

