Saturday Sweat: Running for the Homeless

I have a to do list a mile long today… I just got back from a long run, so I am going to take a breather while I eat my rice krispies and share some awesome news with you!

Last Saturday I announced that I would not be running in the Derby Marathon in Louisville on April 19th (the day before Easter) because the weather prevented me from getting in the necessary training.   Well this Saturday I have the pleasure of announcing that I will be running in the Derby Half Marathon (again).  If you recall last year I did it as an outlet for my jock personality.  This year I am running it with a friend of mine to raise money for one of the homeless shelters here in Lexington!  

Capture

I don’t know where you are from, but considering that Old Man Winter had it out for the majority of the nation this year I am going to assume you can relate to our situation here in that winter was much harsher this year than normal. Consequently, the homeless shelters in town got hit a lot harder than normal too.

According to an article published last November, Lexington has around 1,500 homeless people.  I’ll be honest, before moving here I was pretty calloused towards the homeless.  I wasn’t oblivious; I was calloused, which in my opinion is worse. In the last nearly 2 years, God has softened my heart tremendously for the homeless and marginalized.

more of the Catholic Action Center working to help the community.

more of the Catholic Action Center working to help the community.

Think about it, when you see me out in the elements on the street it’s because I CHOSE to go out there and brave it, because I wanted to feel hard core, or because I wanted go out and enjoy the gift of a body that moves and breathes and likes the sunshine.  It’s not because I have to be there.  It’s because I choose for a short time to be knowing full well that I have nice climate controlled home with a full pantry of food to return to. That’s not the case for homeless  people.  Have you ever thought about that?  How hard it would be to know that you weren’t going to get to go inside and rest?

this is the Community Inn, one of the ministries run by Catholic Action

this is the Community Inn, one of the ministries run by Catholic Action

My heart breaks for those who had to endure even just one night out in the cold this last winter.  I have had the opportunity to spend a few nights outside as if I was homeless, and those aren’t nights I particularly want to relive.  I can’t imagine that being my perpetual reality.

That's the date.  Combined we will be running 26.2 miles, and every step is a step forward in the fight against homelessness.

That’s the date. Combined we will be running 26.2 miles, and every step is a step forward in the fight against homelessness.

So I am going to use my inner jock to help do some good in the world.  My friend Andrea and I are trying to raise $1000 for the Lexington Catholic Action Center.  Wouldn’t it be amazing if we could raise $1000 each for a ministry that does so much to help the homeless and marginalized!  God can bring that kind of money in.  If you are interested in donating you can mail me a check made out to the Catholic Action Center or you can mail it straight to them or donate online here: http://www.godsnet.info/Donate.html.

If you donate on-line or mail a check straight there, please let me know so we can keep track and share a the total at the end, so that we can all see how much God brought in.  Every little bit helps, even it’s only $10!  And please, share this with your friends too.  Everyone is welcome to donate.

Leave a Reply

