Easter “Framily” Dinner

Easter has always been a big deal in my family. From the Sunrise Service, Cleaning the house for family dinner, trying not to break the good china, to my dad dressing up like a disciple in the Last Supper reenactment… don’t worry, he wasn’t Judas.   But Easter wasn’t just a time for dressing up, dying eggs, and eating my mom’s awesome BBQ brisket.  It was a time to intentionally enjoy the community that we gain from Christ.

Our house might be small and our table space limited, but God’s family table never runs out of space.  That’s what celebrating Easter is all about.  The chance to be at that table.

Easter isn’t just the celebration of Jesus’ sacrifice on the Christ for us.  It is also the celebration of His rising from the grave.  That victory  over the grave has blessed us all with more than we can fathom.  It is also binds us all together into a new kind of family.  That is what Will and I wanted to celebrate this Easter – our new kind of family that Will and I found here in Lexington – our “Framily.”

Jesus resurrection has given us a family in each other, in our friends, deepened the relationship we have with our families, and even made us family with some of you reading this post!  To celebrate that we had some of our friends & family over for Easter dinner!

Friends and family together at our home on Sunday. Everyone enjoying their food =)

Friends and family together at our home on Sunday. Everyone enjoying their food =)

20140420_143813-1024x576

The best part was that my parents came in from Kansas to help us host it!  I was so glad to have my mom’s help hosting my first big dinner.   She gave up hosting Easter dinner at her house to help me host it at mine.

one of the tables, with a chocolate covered strawberry for everyone. =) We moved our kitchen table outside since it was such a nice day and our house is tiny!

one of the tables, with a chocolate covered strawberry for everyone. =)
We moved our kitchen table outside since it was such a nice day and our house is tiny!

drinks and silverware.

drinks and silverware.

Here’s all the food that we filled ourselves with.  Like I said in my about me post, I am a firm believer that all moments are better with food, and after looking at these pictures, I think you will agree with me.

….we may have cooked too much chicken….

….we may have cooked too much chicken….

My Brussels Sprout Hash. A bit of winter dish, but let’s be real… that’s stuff is good any time of the year!

My Brussels Sprout Hash. A bit of winter dish, but let’s be real… that’s stuff is good any time of the year!

some of the spread

some of the spread

some more of the spread.  No, my mom and I didn’t make all of this!  Just the chicken,  some of the dessert, the baked beans, and brussels sprouts.

some more of the spread. No, my mom and I didn’t make all of this! Just the chicken, some of the dessert, the baked beans, and brussels sprouts.

Joelle’s awesome salad! I love that she always mixes fruit in!

Joelle’s awesome salad! I love that she always mixes fruit in!

some of the desserts, plus lemon-lime squares, carmelitas, and lemon pound cake. oh and more rice krispies.

some of the desserts, plus lemon-lime squares, carmelitas, and lemon pound cake. oh and more rice krispies.

Emma and Erica molded rice krispy treats into this awesome bunny! seriously they are so talented! Way cooler than the cake I made for Will.

Emma and Erica molded rice krispy treats into this awesome bunny! seriously they are so talented! Way cooler than the cake I made for Will.

Our house might be small and our table space limited, but God’s family table never runs out of space.  That’s what celebrating Easter is all about.  The chance to be at that table.

Us! Lookin’ good after stuffing our bellies!

Us! Lookin’ good after stuffing our bellies!

Our friends are crazy, but we love them!

Our friends are crazy, but we love them!

and this is what happens when you let them steal your camera. No, I wasn’t doing the Macarena.

and this is what happens when you let them steal your camera. No, I wasn’t doing the Macarena.

What are some of your Easter traditions?

Leave a Reply

