Mothers’ Day Insperation – Vintage Sign

I have to confess that I am generally one of those people who doesn’t think about cards and presents for birthdays, anniversaries, fathers’ day, and mothers’ day.  But this year, since my parents were coming to town for Easter I decided to take my chances and give my mom her birthday present a few weeks early while she was here in person.

So if you are like I normally am then you probably know that Mothers’s Day is only a week  away so you have to act fast.  Or if you are more on top of celebrations than I am then you can tuck this idea away for next year, a birthday, or just because.

there it is, the finished project.

I made my mom a sign for Mothers’ Day.  I wanted to give her something that could be a daily reminder for her of what her children think of her since Will and I are here in KY and my sister is in Cali.  We might not be there everyday, but this sign can.

The verse on it is Proverbs 31:28.

I made a sign for one of my friends as a wedding present last year, but I haven’t made too many signs in the meantime.  I was in a hurry when working on this, so I don’t have too many photos of the process.  But I will do my best to walk you through the process.

You will need:

  • a piece of wood (this sign is made from a 1″ x 4″)
  • Stain or paint for the underneath
  • White paint for the white wash
  • a pencil
  • a sharpie
  • a couple of nails
  • some picture hanging wire, or something else to hang it with.

First, I lightly painted the wood brown for my mom’s sign, but here’s a picture of this first step after I did it with watered down black stain.  Mother's Day Sign

 

Then I white wash over that with watered down white paint.  Once I get to my desired color then I hand the project over to Will for a bit so that he can cut the wood down to size for me.

white washed and being assembled.

Will uses 2 small nails per board.  What you can’t see is that on the back side, there are 2 small pieces of wood running perpendicularly along the length of the sign to hold it all together.

Once the sign is assembled it’s time to put the words on it.  My free-hand is not very good so I Print out the words I want in the font that I want.  More instructions on that here.  Once I have them penciled on I fill them in with a sharpie.  You can use paint, but the sharpie is so much easier and honestly looks just as good.

I have only ever used a fine point sharpie.  I don't know if that makes a difference or not.

The silver words I did paint.

I made this sign in the matter of about 20 minutes a night for two nights plus about 20 minutes of Will’s time.  It’s really not difficult, and most of the time you spend making it is waiting for all the paint to dry.

All that’s left to do is give it to your mom!

To: Moms From: Your Little Easter Bunnies

 

If you have any other good Mothers’ Day ideas, please share them.  Maybe I can be extra prepared for next year!

❤ & Prayers,

Dev

Leave a Reply

