National Doughnut Day: Mini S’Mores Doughnuts

Happy Hour Friday/Happy National Doughnut Day everyone!

S'Mores Doughnuts (3)

When I discovered (thanks to facebook) that it was national doughnut day I just had to tell Will.  He happens to LOVE doughnuts.  Sometimes I think that He is about to go into depression about the fact that he can’t eat as many Krispy Kreme’s in one setting without getting nauseous as he used to be able to. But I know he was happy when he saw this spread in the break room at work today:

How do they expect you to focus with those sitting there? Sorry for the bad quality picture.  I figured cropped and a little blurry was better than including the rest of the break room.

I thought it was just him, but to my surprise both my father and my sister texted me telling me to go eat a doughnut today!  Now for most people, that’s easy. Walk to the gas station down the block or stop by your local Krispy Kreme while the free doughnut light is on (did you know there’s an app for that?!) For me however, not so much.  Dang Gluten.

Will's manly sized doughnut with contraband graham cracker bits.

For me to be able to celebrate, I had to do some homemade doughnut making. Which I don’t mind at all!  And thanks to my awesome mother-in-law I have a regular and a mini doughnut pan! I love using them when I have extra batter from things.  Like when I have too much muffin batter.

yeah.... those were amazing little muffin bites.

Or when we have chili, I make “corn holes.”  It’s cornbread, but dunkable!

Dunkable Cornbread for our Spicy Chili!

I was unaware that it was National Doughnut day till I was already at work – blogger fail.  I feel like bloggers are supposed to know about these weird “holidays” so that we can have the perfect post ready ahead of time.  Not me!  So I am making doughnuts for dessert tonight!  These babies are fresh out of the oven and this recipe is hot off the presses!

S'Mores Doughnuts (13)

I decided that I wanted to make s’mores doughnuts because it is s’mores time of year.  I mean the evening weather is that perfect temperature where it’s not too hot for a fire and not too cold to sleep outside, which means I want to go camping, which means I want s’mores…..

….to be honest, I don’t care what time of year it is.  I will ALWAYS eat a s’more.  BUT same dang gluten issue.  I don’t always have Gluten Free Graham Crackers so I opted to make a sort of warm-cinnamon flavored doughnut as the base to make up for the lack of graham crackers.  I used a recipe I have tried before from Pinch of Yum as my go by.

Mini S’Mores Doughnuts

 These are easy, but fancy. They satisfy your every desire for the campfire classic. They aren’t overwhelmingly sweet. The ratio of marshmallow to chocolate to doughnut is pretty good too!

Ingredients

Doughnuts
  • 1⅓ cup Flour (I used ⅔ cup oat flour, ⅓ cup white rice flour, ⅙ cup brown rice flour, ⅙ cup tapioca startch + 1 tsp guar gum)
  • ¾ teaspoon Baking Powder
  • ¼ teaspoon Baking Soda
  • ½ teaspoon Cinnamon
  • ¼ teaspoon Ginger
  • ¼ cup Sugar (I think brown sugar would work even better)
  • 1 Egg
  • ⅓ cup Applesauce
  • 1 tablespoon Milk
  • 1 taspoon Molasses
  • 2 tablespoons melted Butter
Chocolate Ganache
  • 4 oz (2/3 cup) Milk Chocolate Chips
  • 2 tablespoons Heavy Cream
  • 1 tablespoon Corn Syrup
Other Toppings:
  • Crushed Graham Crackers
  • Toasted Marshmallows
Instructions
Doughnuts
  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Mix the dry ingredients.
  3. To the dry ingredients add the egg, applesauce, milk, and butter. Batter will be very thick
  4. Spoon or pope the batter into your doughnut pans. You want them to be about ½ way full.
  5. Bake for about 7-8 minutes.
  6. Remove the doughnuts from the pan.
Ganache:
  1. Place the chocolate, cream, and corn syrup in a microwave safe bowl and melt the chocolate chips slowly in the microwave.
  2. Dip your doughnuts in the ganache and give them a little twist as you pull them out.
  3. For the rest of the topping I sprinkled crushed graham crackers on Will’s and toasted marshmallows in the broiler to put on top as well. For the mini doughnuts I had the marshmallows cut in half so that they would be more proportional, but I think there wouldn’t be anything wrong with leaving them whole! There is a picture of the marshmallows on a cookie sheet fresh out of the broiler below.

here's the marshmallows fresh from the oven! they are just the way hubster likes them. =)

S'Mores Doughnuts (16)S'Mores Doughnuts (12)S'Mores Doughnuts (8)

Other Doughnut Recipes on the Blog:

Refined Sugar Free, Gluten Free, Vegan.... and still so good!

Easy as opening a can of Pillsbury biscuits! (these would make good S'Mores Doughnuts too!)

Leave a Reply

